Mount Airy VFW honors young contest winners

March 14, 2004

The Mount Airy Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 10076 recently held an awards ceremony for the winners of several programs sponsored by the post and its auxiliary.

Six contests were held: Buddy Poppy, Loyalty Day, Patriot's Pen, Voice of Democracy, Patriotic and Teacher of the Year.

The awards ceremony was attended by the winners and their families, Post 10076 members and officers, and other other VFW post officers and state officials. The winners were:

Buddy Poppy Contest: Kathleen Hand. Mary Beth Talamo was chairwoman. Youths younger than age 18 had to answer patriotic questions and recite the poem Flanders Field.

Loyalty Day Contest: Morgan Henson, first place; Jillian Henson, second place. Talamo was chairwoman. Participants had to answer questions about patriotism.

Patriot's Pen Contest: Angelica M. Yost, first place; Emily E. Jennings, second place. Doris Bujanowski was chairwoman. Middle-school pupils had to write an essay on a patriotic theme and record it on tape.

Voice of Democracy Contest: Jessica Pak, first place; Jennifer Pesto, second place; Megan Baker, third place. Robert J. Washek was chairman. High school students had to write an essay on a patriotic theme and record it on tape.

Patriotic Art Contest: Dana Salas, first place; Jessica Pak, second place. Carolyn Self was chairwoman. The auxiliary created this new contest for artistic students.

Teacher of the Year: Colleen Bernard. Bill Guilday was chairman. The post chooses a teacher who has contributed to the community and veterans through teaching about history and military events.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.