Education Notes

Education Notes

March 14, 2004

Town meeting in Hampstead to focus on schools

School board President Scott Stone and Superintendent of Schools Charles I. Ecker will hold a town meeting from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. Wednesday at Spring Garden Elementary School.

Residents are invited to express concerns or ask questions about education.

The school is at 700 Boxwood Drive, Hampstead.

Information: 410-751-3020.

Carroll academic contest to be held Saturday

Carroll County high school students will compete in the first Carroll Academic Challenge from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday at Carroll Community College's Scott Center theater.

The brainchild of college computer instructor Bill Warburton, with support from Greg Eckles, director of Carroll County high schools, the event will feature high school students competing to answer questions.

The championship match at 3 p.m. will be broadcast live by WTTR radio. The college will tape the event, which will be aired on channels 18 (Carroll) and 21 (CCPS).

During the challenge, Carroll's high school students will get to see and use the college's technology. In addition to the schools' collaboration, Heritage Dodge/Nissan Honda of Westminster is providing funds for awards, team shirts and the procurement of questions.

Dwight Dingle, station manager at WTTR, will moderate the competition. Students in grades nine through 12 will use computers and instant messaging to answer questions during three preliminary games. Three schools will advance to the championship game.

The schedule is: 9:15 a.m., Century and Winters Mill; 10:30 a.m., Westminster and Francis Scott Key; noon, Liberty, South Carroll and North Carroll; 3 p.m., championship game; 4:30 p.m., awards and closing ceremonies.

The event is open to the public.

Information: 410-386-8464 or 410-751-3020.

Tech center students join state competition

Students from the Carroll County Career and Technology Center will participate in the Maryland Skills USA contest starting at 8 a.m. Saturday at the Center of Applied Technology North, 800 Stevenson Road in Severn, Anne Arundel County.

Students in the media communication, cosmetology, early childhood education, culinary arts, collision repair and electrical construction programs will compete with students from around the state to qualify for the next level of competition.

An awards ceremony will be held at Lindale Middle School, 415 Andover Road in Linthicum, after the competition. Students who win gold medals will qualify for the national competition in Kansas City, Mo.

Information: 410-751-3669.

Two $1,000 scholarships to Bowie State offered

The Frederick-Carroll Chapter of the Bowie State University Alumni Association is offering two $1,000 scholarships to the college for the 2004-2005 school year to a graduating senior from Carroll County and another from Frederick County.

Applications are available in the guidance offices of both county high schools. The application deadline is April 2.

Information: Edna Johnson, 410-795-0273, or Viola Lee (Frederick County), 301-694-6042.

Science teacher Ferrin to get excellence award

Buck Ferrin, a science teacher at Century High School, will receive the Maryland Association of Science Teachers Award for Excellence in Science Education.

Ferrin, a former industrial chemist, chose teaching as a second career. He began as an instructor at Westminster High School and moved to Century in 2002. From department coordinator, he moved to academy leader.

He started the advanced placement physics program at Century and had the highest percentage of students taking the test, all of whom passed.

Each year, the Maryland Association of Science Teachers honors those who have made outstanding contributions to science education at various levels.

Three college students from Carroll are honored

Three students at the College of Notre Dame of Maryland from Carroll County recently received honors at Notre Dame Day, a yearly celebration of the college's heritage and recognition of the achievements.

Eldersburg resident Rebecca Cowart received the Business/Economics Department Award given to the student who embodies the college's spirit, is a person of integrity and values the liberal arts.

Westminster resident Ashley Gibbs and Hampstead resident Stacy Telmanowski, members of the tennis team, were part of the student group that received the Mary Anne O'Donnell Team Academic Achievement Award given to the athletic team with the highest collective grade point average from the previous year.

10 county residents on college's dean's list

The College of Notre Dame of Maryland has named 10 Carroll County residents to the dean's list for the fall 2003 semester.

The dean's list honors students with a minimum semester grade-point average of 3.5 and a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.2.

The Carroll students are: Rebecca Cowart, Eldersburg; Stacy Telmanowski, Hampstead; Rebecca Fetter, Manchester; Kimberly Wall, New Windsor; Barbara Dickerson, Angela Eder, Christina Miller, Sykesville; Bonita Ward, Taneytown; Katie Kraus, Westminster; and Keri Ann Lutz, Woodbine.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.