March 06, 2004



ANGELS: Agreed to terms with P Francisco Cordova and P Felipe Arredondo.

ATHLETICS: Signed P Rich Harden, IF Mark Ellis, IF Esteban German, IF Adam Morrisey, OF Eric Byrnes, OF Mike Edwards and OF Jason Grabowski to one-year contracts.

DODGERS: Agreed to terms with OF Reggie Abercrombie, IF Willy Aybar, P Yhency Brazoban, P Andrew Brown, OF Chin-Feng Chen, P Steve Colyer, P Jason Frasor, P Joel Hanrahan, C Koyie Hill, SS Cesar Izturis, P Edwin Jackson, P Hong-Chih Kuo, P Orlando Rodriguez, IF-OF Jason Romano, C David Ross, OF Wilkin Ruan and IF Joe Thurston.

GIANTS: Signed GM Brian Sabean to contract extension through 2005. Exercised 2005 option on contract of manager Felipe Alou.

INDIANS: Signed C Josh Bard, IF Casey Blake, OF Coco Crisp, P Jason Davis, P Chad Durbin, IF Travis Hafner and C Victor Martinez to one-year contracts. Named Ruben Felix bullpen catcher.

ROYALS: Re-signed SS Angel Berroa, P Jeremy Affeldt and OF Aaron Guiel. Agreed with P Chris George, P Jamie Cerda, P Jorge Vasquez, and IF Jarrod Patterson on one-year contracts.

WHITE SOX: Sent P Corwin Malone outright to Triple-A Charlotte. Released P Robert Person from minor-league contract.


BUCKS: Signed G Brevin Knight. Released G Anthony Goldwire.

RAPTORS: Signed G Rod Strickland for rest of season. Waived G Jannero Pargo.


ATLANTIC COAST CONFERENCE: Named Duke's Gail Goestenkors women's basketball Coach of the Year.

BIG EAST CONFERENCE: Named Connecticut's Diana Taurasi women's basketball Player of the Year.

MID-EASTERN ATHLETIC CONFERENCE: Named Delaware State's Mandy Clark (Milford Mill) women's basketball Player of the Year. Named Clark, UMES' Tiffany Winkfield and Coppin State's Leisel Harry to all-conference first team, Coppin State's Antoinette Reese to second team, and Coppin State's Talia Sutton to all-rookie team.

NEW ORLEANS: Announced that women's basketball coach Joey Favaloro will not return next season.

NOTRE DAME: Announced that men's basketball F Torin Francis will have surgery Monday to repair herniated disc and will miss rest of season.

SOUTHERN MISSISSIPPI: Announced resignation of men's basketball coach James Green. Named Jeff Norwood interim coach.

TEXAS: Announced that RB Cedric Benson gave up pro baseball for football, choosing to stay with Longhorns for his senior year instead of going to NFL.

UMBC: Placed men's basketball coach Tom Sullivan on indefinite paid administrative leave. Named Randy Monroe men's interim coach.


BENGALS: Matched signing offer K Shayne Graham with Jaguars; signed him to five-year contract. Terminated contract of CB Artrell Hawkins, making him free agent.

BROWNS: Released RB Jamel White.

BUCCANEERS: Re-signed free-agent TE Ricky Dudley.

CHARGERS: Signed OL Mike Goff, who had been with Bengals, to five-year contract.

CHIEFS: Agreed with DE Eric Hicks (Maryland) on six-year contract.

DOLPHINS: Signed OL Jeno James, who had been with Panthers, to six-year contract.

FALCONS: Signed free-agent CB Jason Webster, who had been with 49ers.

49ERS: Re-signed free-agent CB Ahmed Plummer to five-year contract.

JAGUARS: Signed TE Todd Yoder to three-year contract.

JETS: Re-signed G Brent Smith.

LIONS: Agreed to terms with free-agent OL Damien Woody, who had been with Patriots, and free-agent CB Fernando Bryant, who had been with Jaguars.

PANTHERS: Agreed with LB Jessie Armstead on one-year contract.

PATRIOTS: Re-signed free-agent LB Don Davis.

REDSKINS: Signed LB Marcus Washington, who had been with Colts, to six-year contract. TITANS: Traded WR Justin McCareins to Jets for 2004 second-round draft pick.

VIKINGS: Agreed with CB Antoine Winfield on six-year contract.


BLUE JACKETS: Reassigned RW David Ling to AHL Syracuse.

BLUES: Assigned LW Peter Sejna to AHL Worcester.

DEVILS: Acquired C Jan Hrdina from Coyotes for F Mike Rupp and 2004 second-round draft pick.

CANUCKS: Recalled F Sean Pronger from AHL Manitoba.

CAPITALS: Claimed F Craig Johnson off waivers from Maple Leafs.

PENGUINS: Assigned LW Tomas Surovy to AHL Wilkes-Barre/Scranton.

Horse racing

NATIONAL THOROUGHBRED RACING ASSOCIATION: Named Terence Meycocks special assistant to commissioner.

THOROUGHBRED RACING ASSOCIATIONS: Re-elected Joe Harper president, Corey Johnsen VP, Christopher Scherf executive VP, Williams Fasy treasurer, Robert Bork secretary and Don Amos, Steven Duncker and Peter Karches to the board of directors.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.