Bowser, A. Stiffler help Arundel put hold on 2nd place

Two titlists, two seconds raise hosts behind only DeMatha in 17-team field


High Schools

January 25, 2004|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,SUN STAFF

Arundel's Justin Bowser (112) and Andrew Stiffler (130) won individual crowns, and twin Brian Stiffler (140) and Brad Pendock (189) were second in leading the 14th-ranked host Wildcats' runner-up effort to DeMatha of Hyattsville in their 17-team invitational last night.

Bowser (21-1) used a technical fall, a first-period pin and scored nine second-period points, including a lateral drop for one of his nine takedowns, in a 21-7 rout of Rudy Moures (13-1) of Bethesda-Chevy Chase to win his second straight Arundel crown.

"It was 2-2, but once I hit the lateral drop [a throw from the neutral position], I gained a big advantage. We wrestled some close matches in the summer, but I studied him," said Bowser, a sophomore whose only loss was to River Hill's No. 3 Vince Cina. "Since that loss, I've worked harder in practice and I'm better, mentally."

Andrew Stiffler (18-3) routed his three opponents by a combined 45-7. He led 15-1 before pinning Lackey's Matt Robinson at 5:25 of his title bout.

"He was trying headlocks and other crazy moves, so it was a matter of timing his shots, figuring him out," said Stiffler, whose brother, Brian (22-2), younger by 16 minutes, lost, 19-9, to state runner-up Eric Jeronimo (13-1) of third-place Bethesda-Chevy Chase. "We had a goal to finish in the top three of teams here, and we more than achieved that."

Champions Steve Sargent (103, 29-6), Bryan Sanders (119, 34-6), Mike Rowe (125, 38-1), Rudy Rueda (152, 29-3), Scott Miller (160) and Gary Stewart (189, 34-3) led DeMatha, which had 221 points to Arundel's 160.5.

Meade's No. 3 Alec Eaton (Hwt., 17-1) had pins in 15 and 34 seconds before using two spin-behind takedowns in the final 18 seconds to break a 4-4 tie in his 9-5 victory over Tony Miller (20-6) of Greencastle (Pa.).

"His head was down and I just worked to get behind him," said Eaton, whose only loss was against No. 1 Justin Neal of Glen Burnie. "This guy really pushed me, which will help in my preparation for states."

After defeating him by three points in last weekend's Overlea Tournament semifinal, second-ranked, two-time state champ Nathan Bachmann (152, 14-3) of Fallston scored seven near-fall points in a 17-6 semifinal victory against Overlea's No. 4 Dan Sexton. Bachmann lost his title bout, 11-3, to Rueda, a three-time National Preps champ.

Overlea's No. 1 Kyle Krumholtz (125, 22-1) broke a 3-all tie on a takedown with 38 seconds left in his 5-4 semifinal win over McDonough of Charles County's Matt Myers, a third-place state finisher. Krumholtz lost his title bout, 13-2, to Rowe, a two-time National Preps champ.

Bethesda-Chevy Chase state champ Sonny Nucci (135, 13-1), the lower weight Outstanding Wrestler, avenged a loss to Churchill's three-time state champ Danny April (15-2), who trailed 6-2 before defaulting (sore shoulder) with 16 seconds left.

On pace to become only Maryland's third four-time state champ, April (119-4 career) suffered his other loss of this year to Whitman freshman Eren Civan. As a sophomore and junior, April lost at Arundel tournaments to DeMatha's Cam Watkins (now at McDonogh) and Lackey's Jesse McKeever.

Broadneck's No. 1 Tyler Moyer (16-1), a takedown technician, was beaten at his own game by Bowie junior Zak Adomanis (20-0), who tossed and nearly pinned the 215-pound state runner-up in the first period of his 9-2 win. Adomanis was upper-weight Outstanding Wrestler.

Moyer scored six takedowns in his 15-8 semifinal win over Andrew Friedson, but his habit of standing up after the shot played right into Adomanis' throwing style on takedowns.

"I'm pretty good with underhooks and throws," said Adomanis. "When I saw he was coming up on some of his shots, I figured I could score on him."

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.