Bel Air High School students gather midyear accolades

December 21, 2003|BY A SUN STAFF WRITER

Bel Air High School reported a flurry of student activity recently as the school system prepared to close for the midyear holidays.

Seven Bel Air High students had their artwork selected for exhibition at Government House, the governor's residence in Annapolis. Ornaments by Brionne Bradley, Jesus Bustamonte, Caroline Cook, Allison Farley, Richard Jackson, Holly Lane and Melody Taylor have been hung on the state Christmas tree. The ornaments reflect the students' childhood memories.

In another note from Annapolis, Bel Air seniors Amanda Henninger and Jake Tanenbaum were selected to be pages at the Maryland General Assembly session next year. Each will report to the State House during two non-consecutive weeks between next month and March for assignment duties in the Senate or House of Delegates. On the academic front, Bel Air seniors Elizabeth Boyd, Wing Lin and Christopher Redding earned the College Board designation of AP Scholar for their achievements on three or more college-level Advanced Placement exams.

Nine Bel Air seniors were commended by the National Merit Program. They are Guy Cole, Christine Frieman, Sara Hanson, Wing Lin, Ryan Malooly, Lauren McDonald, Kelly O'Shea, Bethany Peck and Jake Tanenbaum.

Finally, 66 Bel Air students were inducted into the National Honor Society during a recent candlelight vigil. They are:

Seniors Katie Barnes, Meredith Crisler, Stephen Dombroskie, Marissa Forbes, John French, Krystle Landa, James Liu, Jonathan O'Malley, Sarah Pielli, Christopher Redding, Alexandra Ruth, Evan Shaffer and Jennifer Wittman.

Juniors Jennifer Abboud, Lauren Althouse, Allison Anthony, Jessica Anthony, Adam Berry, Andrew Berry, Spencer Black, Robert Blackwell, Sarah Brown, Donald Cerio, Raquel Ciappi, Julia Collins, Cari Ann Crabtree, Kathryn DeVan, Sarah DeVan, Tyler DeVan, Jacob Eikenburg, Ashlee Ewell, Diana Gross, Holly Hancock, Anita Handa, Lindsey Hatfield, Caitlin Hody, Amanda Holston, Michelle Houck, Megan Jackson, Molly Julian, Monika Kauffman and Bekah Lashof.

Also, Kendra Mahall, Shana McNew, Stacy Mikanowicz, Rachel Moffa, Thomas Mumey, Jonathan Narup, Miguel Negron, Chad Ogle, Hannah Oliver, Emily Payne, Sarah Peacher, Alex Pfau, Daniel Pollis, Megan Purpora, Alexander Ratner, Sara Smith, Jennifer Snyder, Megan Stransky, Stefanie Szczepaniak, Grant Sweeney, Bethany Theis, Ashley Wallace, Anastasia Whitesell and Robert Wright.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.