Sports Digest


December 11, 2003



BREWERS: Exercised contract option on manager Ned Yost for 2005 season and added option for 2006.

METS: Agreed to terms with SS Kazuo Matsui on three-year contract.

PHILLIES: Signed free agents P Jim Crowell, P Mike Spiegel, P Adam Roller, C John Castellano, C Casey Martinez, C Nick Tempesta, IF Jim Deschaine, IF J.P. Roberge, OF Mark Budzinski, OF Kevin Gibbs, OF Jim Rushford and OF Mark Smith to minor league contracts.

PIRATES: Agreed to terms with OF Daryle Ward and P Juan Acevedo on minor league contracts.

RANGERS: Signed free-agent 1B Brad Fullmer, who had been with Angels, to one-year contract. Named Stan Hilton pitching coach for Double-A Clinton.

REDS: Placed former Orioles P John Bale on waivers.

ROCKIES: Agreed to terms with 3B Vinny Castillo on a one-year contract.

TIGERS: Agreed to terms with 2B Fernando Vina on two-year contract.

WHITE SOX: Requested waivers on 1B-OF Brian Daubach for purpose of giving him his unconditional release.


NBA: Fined Trail Blazers coach Maurice Cheeks $7,500 for verbally abusing officials and failing to leave the court in a timely manner after ejection against Grizzlies Dec. 7.

CLIPPERS: Activated F Glen Rice. Placed C Olden Polynice on injured list.

76ERS: Signed F Zendon Hamilton. Activated F Glenn Robinson from injured list. Placed G Willie Green on injured list with right thumb sprain.

GRIZZLIES: Activated G Troy Bell. Placed G Dahntay Jones on injured list

SUNS: Fired coach Frank Johnson. Named Mike D'Antoni coach.


HEISMAN TROPHY: Named Oklahoma QB Jason White, Pittsburgh WR Larry Fitzgerald, Mississippi QB Eli Manning and Michigan RB Chris Perry.

IDAHO: Named Joel Thomas running backs coach and co-offensive coordinator, Nate Kaczor co-offensive coordinator, Jeff Mills assistant football coach, Johnny Nansen linebackers coach and Jonathan Smith quarterbacks coach.

LOUISIANA-MONROE: Hired former Army coach Todd Berry as offensive coordinator.

MARYLAND: Janice Kruger named American Volleyball Coaches Association Region Coach of Year. Aimee Huddleston and Lynnsy Jones named to the all-region squad.

MIAMI: Kellen Winslow Jr. named winner of John Mackey Award for best TE in college football.

OKLAHOMA: QB Jason White named AP Player of Year. T Tommie Harris won Lombardi Award.

SAVANNAH STATE: Named Richard Basil football coach.


BRONCOS: Signed WR Atnaf Harris to practice squad.

BROWNS: Signed DL Felipe Claybrooks and DB Ron Israel from practice squad. Signed free agents K Brett Conway, RB Nick Maddox and FB Josh Mallard to active roster.

DOLPHINS: Released C Ben Claxton from practice squad. Signed WR Carl Morris to practice squad.

FALCONS: Fired coach Dan Reeves. Named Wade Phillips interim coach for remainder of season.

49ERS: Signed FB Jasen Isom from practice squad. Signed WR Bosley Allen and former Ravens WR Jermaine Lewis to practice squad.

JAGUARS: Waived WR Matthew Hatchette. Claimed LB Courtland Bullard off waivers.

LIONS: Signed LB Jody Littleton and S Julius Curry.

PACKERS: Signed CB James Whitley.

PATRIOTS: Re-signed FB Larry Center. Released WR J.J. Stokes. Placed LS Lonie Paxton on IR. Signed LS Sean McDermott. Signed P Travis Dorsch to practice squad. Waived OL Jamil Soriano from practice squad.

RAIDERS: Placed DT John Parrella on IR. Signed WR John Stone from practice squad. Signed C Blaine Saipaia to practice squad.

REDSKINS: Re-signed OL Daryl Terrell. Signed LB Clifton Smith from practice squad. Signed QB Brandon Doman and DE Greg White to practice squad.

SAINTS: Placed RB James Fenderson on IR. Signed C Terrence Wagner from practice squad.


BLUE JACKETS: Signed D Jamie Pushor to one-year contract.

BLUES: Assigned D Brett Scheffelmaier and LW Igor Valeev to ECHL Peoria.

CAPITALS: Fired coach Bruce Cassidy. Named Glen Hanlon coach. Recalled D Dwayne Zinger from AHL Portland.

MAPLE LEAFS: Assigned D Ric Jackman to AHL St. John's.

WILD: Assigned RW Brent Burns to Canadian junior team.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.