Two teen-agers killed in crash are identified

November 14, 2003|By Laura Barnhardt | Laura Barnhardt,SUN STAFF

The two people killed in a car crash on Tufton Avenue near Dover Road early Tuesday morning were identified by Baltimore County police yesterday as a 19-year-old Taneytown man and a 17-year-old Bel Air girl.

John Ryan Strebe and Allison Anne Petrecca were traveling east at high speed on Tufton Avenue in Shawan in a 2001 Toyota MR2 Spyder when Strebe lost control of the car on a slight bend, said Officer Shawn Vinson, a Baltimore County police spokesman.

The car skidded across the double yellow line, spun around and slid into a pole and a bridge embankment, police said. Excessive speed was a factor in the crash, Vinson said.

Strebe of the 300 block of E. Baltimore St. and Petrecca of the 600 block of Carleton Trail were members of the Bel Air Vipers, a competitive cheerleading squad, their parents said.

Strebe, a stock person for a food-distribution company in Edgemere, was known to friends as Ryan or J.R., said his father, John Strebe, a retired Baltimore County police officer.

Petrecca graduated early from Bel Air High School in May, Harford County school officials said.

She worked at a hair salon in Bel Air and planned to attend cosmetology school in Timonium, her mother, Karen Petrecca, said.

Strebe's family will receive visitors at Ruck Funeral Home, 1050 York Road in Towson, from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. tomorrow and from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. and 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. Sunday. A funeral Mass will be offered at 10:30 a.m. Monday at St. Isaac Jogues Catholic Church, 9215 Old Harford Road.

Petrecca's family will receive visitors from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. and 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. today at Evans Funeral Home, 3 Newport Drive in Forest Hill. A funeral Mass will be offered at 11 a.m. tomorrow at St. Margaret Catholic Church, 141 N. Hickory Ave. in Bel Air.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.