November 12, 2003



ASTROS: Agreed to one-year, $600,000 contract with free-agent P Dan Miceli.

CUBS: Named Vince Coleman minor league instructor and Dave Keller roving hitting instructor.

ROCKIES: Announced two-year player development contract extension with Rookie-level Casper through 2006 season.

YANKEES: Named Roy White first base coach. Moved Luis Sojo to third base coach.

THE SPORTING NEWS: Named Giants GM Brian Sabean Executive of the Year.


ATLANTIC 10 CONFERENCE: Announced that Saint Louis accepted membership bid, effective July 1, 2005.

COLLEGE SPORTS TELEVISION: Named Matt Doherty basketball commentator.

LOMBARDI AWARD: Named Oklahoma DT Tommie Harris, UCLA DL Shawn Andrews and Georgia DL David Pollack finalists for honor given to nation's top lineman or linebacker.

AMERICAN: Named Joni Comstock director of athletics and recreation.

ASHLAND: Announced that football coach Gary Keller will not return next season.

DETROIT-MERCY: Signed men's basketball coach Perry Watson to six-year contract.

GOUCHER: CAC named Gary Dunda men's soccer Coach of the Year and Logan Herring, Nick Kiss (C. Milton Wright) and Tom Feuerstein second-team selections.

INDIANA: Named Mike Freitag men's soccer coach at end of season, replacing five-time NCAA champion Jerry Yeagley, who is retiring.

JUNIATA: Commonwealth Conference named Stephanie Kines (Towson) women's volleyball Rookie of the Year and second-team all-conference.

MARYLAND: Sasho Cirovski was named ACC men's soccer Coach of the Year. M Scott Buete, D Seth Stammler and M Sumed Ibrahim were named to ACC first team; G Noah Palmer, D Clarence Goodson, F Domenic Mediate and F Abe Thompson were named to second team.

MIAMI: Announced that TE Kellen Winslow will not start Saturday against Syracuse because of on-field behavior but will play.

MOUNT ST. MARY'S: F Beth Foster was named to NEC women's basketball preseason first team. Team was picked to finish third.

ST. MARY'S: Junior middle blocker Nicole Tuttle (Dulaney) was named to CAC volleyball second team.

SALISBURY: M Dan Meehan was named CAC men's soccer Player of the Year and was joined on first team by F John Muto and G Jason Cranford. F Chris Mills, M Dan Lader and FB Markus Hunkeler were named to second team. ... Lindsay Lawson and Suzanne Powell were named to CAC volleyball first team; Abbey Petrecca was named Rookie of the Year.

STATEN ISLAND: Announced that it will add women's soccer as varsity sport beginning in 2004.

WILLIAM SMITH: Upstate Collegiate Athletic Association named F Maggie Dolan (Towson) to field hockey first team.


NFL: Suspended Broncos FB Mike Anderson four games for violating NFL's substance abuse policy.

BRONCOS: Signed CB Ryan McNeil. Waived G-C Chris Watton from practice squad. Signed C Blane Saipaia to practice squad.

BROWNS: Released WR Kevin Johnson.

BUCCANEERS: Signed TE Rickey Dudley to one-year contract. Placed S John Howell on IR with hamstring injury.

CARDINALS: Signed K Neil Rackers.

DOLPHINS: Signed CB Korey Banks to practice squad.

GIANTS: Signed CB Ike Charlton. Place CB William Peterson on IR with stress fracture in lower back.

JAGUARS: Waived CB Chris Brown.

JETS: Placed KR Michael Bates on IR with broken right hand. Released RB Little John Flowers from practice squad. Signed CB Omare Lowe from practice squad. Re-signed RB Johnathan Reese and LB Mark Brown to practice squad.

PACKERS: Signed LB T.J. Slaughter. Waived DT tackle Terdell Sands.

RAMS: Re-signed RB Joey Goodspeed. Released RB Dan Alexander.

RAVENS: Signed QB Ray Lucas. Released DL Riddick Parker.

TEXANS: Signed TE Rashod Kent to practice squad.


BLUES: Reassigned F Steve Martins to AHL Worcester.

CANUCKS: Recalled G Tyler Moss from AHL Manitoba.

MIGHTY DUCKS: Assigned C Igor Pohanka to ECHL San Diego.

OILERS: Recalled D Alexei Semenov from AHL Toronto.

STARS: Placed RW Aaron Downey on IR, retroactive to Nov. 8, with hip flexor. Recalled RW Mathias Tjarnqvist from AHL Utah.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.