Officers' efforts to stop drunken driving lauded

April 27, 2003

Harford County recently recognized officers from local police agencies for their efforts to curb drunken driving.

Deputies from the Sheriff's Office (along with the total number of alcohol- and drug-related traffic arrests they made) included: Deputy 1st Class Sean Marston, 65 arrests (top in the county); Deputy 1st Class Christopher DeVeau, 39 arrests; Deputy 1st Class Donald Donald Gividen, 36 arrests; Deputy 1st Class Christopher Sergent, 34 arrests; Deputy 1st Class Kenneth Perry, 34 arrests; Deputy 1st Class John Miner, 25 arrests; and Cpl. Carl Brooks, 17 arrests and 30 drug-intoxication arrests. The Harford County Sheriff's Office and the Maryland State Police have officers who are certified in drug recognition evaluation and are available to other law enforcement agencies upon request.

The following troopers from Maryland State Police JFK Highway barracks were honored: Trooper Christopher Corea, 34 arrests; Tfc. Stanley Slide, 26 arrests; Trooper Ken Cooper, 21 arrests; Trooper Christian M. Armiger, 19 arrests; and Trooper Robert S. Nitz, 17 arrests.

Also honored were troopers from the Bel Air barracks: Tfc. Shawn Ward, 51 arrests; Tfc. Andrew King, 39 arrests; Tfc. Tyrone Herndon, 31 arrests; Cpl. Mark Rivera, 28 arrests; Tfc. Richard Skidmore, 27 arrests; Cpl. Ernest Ford (for previous year's work).

The following officers from the Aberdeen Police Department were honored: Cpl. Kirk Bane, 20 arrests; Officer 1st Class George Matheis, 19 arrests; Officer 1st Class Mark Gosnell, 17 arrests; Officer 1st Class Corey Wells, nine arrests; Officer 1st Class Warren Brooks, eight arrests.

The Bel Air Police Department was represented by: Officer 1st Class Robert Pfaff, 15 arrests; Officer 1st Class Ted Daniels, 14 arrests; and Officer 1st Class Henry Marchesani, five arrests.

Three Havre de Grace Police Department officers were honored: Cpl. Todd Harmel, 20 arrests; Cpl. James Smithers, 15 arrests; and Cpl. Ken Terry, 11 arrests.

The DUI Enforcement Appreciation Awards were coordinated by State's Attorney Joseph I. Cassilly and Marge Wason of the state's attorney's office, along with Sgt. Joseph VanSeeters of the Harford County Sheriff's Office. State Farm Insurance and Harford County's Highway Safety Committee sponsored the event.

Supporting local law enforcement agencies in their efforts to reduce driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs is a priority of the Highway Safety Committee, according to Committee Coordinator Kathy Acquavella.

"It is believed that the high visibility DUI saturation patrols and sobriety checkpoints conducted by all county law enforcement agencies have helped to reduce alcohol-involved crashes in Harford County," Acquavella said.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.