Community Notes


April 16, 2003

Three lawmakers challenge students to turn off television

In celebration of "National TV-Turnoff Week," April 21-27, state Sen. Robert H. Kittleman and Dels. Gail H. Bates and Warren E. Miller of District 9A have issued a challenge to students to go without television for one week and participate in other activities.

Students and their parents can visit, a Web site designed by the organizers of the national campaign, for suggestions about activities and reading lists. The site also offers an organizer's kit that includes stickers and educational material.

Students who successfully abstain from television for a week by May 14 will receive a certificate and are invited to celebrate at an event sponsored by the legislators.

A pledge for students to sign is available at elementary schools or by calling 410-841- 3556.

Mayer cancer center to hold open house

The Claudia Mayer Cancer Resource and Image Center will celebrate its fifth anniversary with an open house from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. April 24.

Visitors will be offered refreshments and a tour of the facility, which includes a library and beauty salon for cancer patients, a Web site with links to major cancer databases, consultations with aestheticians, hair stylists and prostheses professionals, and an opportunity to buy products and services in a private, congenial setting.

The three chairwomen of the center's advisory board - Donna Ange, Darlene Miller and Mary Peitz - will preside over the celebration.

The center is a service of Howard County General Hospital. Victor Broccolino, hospital president, will be host of a short program honoring volunteers at 6 p.m. Representatives from Kicks Against Breast Cancer will present contributions from the group's recent fund-raising efforts.

The center is at 5900 Cedar Lane, in Columbia.

Information: 410-740-5858.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.