Westminster DECA students garner awards at conference

March 30, 2003

Six Westminster High School marketing students recently participated in the 40th annual Maryland Career Development Conference, earning 23 awards and two state DECA (Distributive Educational Clubs of America) executive board positions.

Emily Pritts was elected state DECA president for the 2003- 2004 school year, and Haley Clark-Braverman was elected Region I vice president.

Four students - Pritts, Clark-Braverman, Kevin Graff and David Ledford - earned a trip to Orlando, Fla., to represent Maryland DECA at the International Career Development Conference April 25-30.

Students and their awards are:

Pritts: First place, Apparel & Accessories Management Level Series Event; third place, Merchandise Decision Making Team event; finalist, Marketing Concepts Knowledge and Free Enterprise/Economics Knowledge tests.

Clark-Braverman: First place, Food Marketing Management Level Series Event; first place, Public Speaking on "The Price of Terrorism"; third place, Merchandise Decision Making Team event.

Graff: First place, Marketing Management Series Event; second place, Marketing Concepts Knowledge test; third place, Merchandise Decision Making Team event; finalist, Merchandise Price Judging Event.

Ledford: Second place, Retail Merchandising Management Level Series Event; second place, Retail Mathematics Event.

Caitlin Keller: Top finalist, Financial Management part of Business Services Marketing Series Event.

Tim Johnson and Keller qualified to participate in the International DECA Conference's Leadership Training Workshops.

The students also won 11 additional awards.

The students need $4,305 for the Florida trip. Anyone wishing to make a donation can contact Peggy Payne, marketing teacher and DECA adviser, at the school, 410-751-3630, Ext. 276. DECA is an international organization of high school marketing students.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.