2 incumbents, one newcomer nominated to run for Sykesville Town Council seats

March 25, 2003|BY A SUN STAFF WRITER

Two incumbent members will seek re-election May 6 and at least one newcomer was nominated last night for the three open seats on the Sykesville Town Council.

The nominations were to remain open until the close of council business last night. Nominees have until April 14, the next council meeting, to decide on running in the election for a four-year term.

Mark Rychwalski, who was appointed to the council in August, accepted a nomination and will run for his first full term. Council President Russ Vreeland, appointed in 2000 and elected to office the next year, also accepted and is seeking a second full term.

Ed Cinkole, a volunteer on several town committees, also was nominated last night.

The meeting was continuing last night, with no indication of whether member Charlie Mullins would receive a nomination for another term. He had served two terms in the 1980s, was defeated in the 1991 election and won a seat again in 1999.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.