Linganore's Sartwell wins top award at football dinner

Mahoney, Doran, Burrow, Simpson also get grants

March 20, 2003|By Rick Belz | Rick Belz,SUN STAFF

Timothy Sartwell of Linganore won the grand prize of a $4,000 college scholarship at the 40th annual Scholar Athlete Awards dinner at Martin's West in Woodlawn last night.

Patrick Mahoney of Boys Latin, Thomas Doran of Archbishop Spalding, Bruce Simpson Jr. of Havre de Grace and Tavon Burrow of Forest Park each won regional scholarship awards of $1,500.

The event, the largest of more than 100 similar affairs throughout the country, is sponsored by the Greater Baltimore Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame and honors football players from Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Frederick, Harford and Howard counties and Baltimore City.

More than 1,200 attended last night's event, including Gov. Robert L. Ehrlich Jr., who received the organization's Distinguished Marylander Award.

Sartwell, the West region winner, ranks first in a class of 353. The 5-foot-11, 225-pound center and defensive tackle was first-team All-Frederick area and second-team All-County.

Mahoney, first-team All-MIAA B Conference at quarterback, ranks in the top 10 percent of his Lakers class and is president of the senior class. The 6-6, 208-pounder won the Baltimore Ravens quarterback challenge this season.

Doran, the South region winner, ranks first in his class of 230 and earned first-team All-MIAA honors on both offense and defense.

Simpson, the East region winner, is a 6-0, 175-pound second-team All-Metro wide receiver. In the top 20 percent of his class, he was No. 1 in Harford County with 59 receptions for over 1,000 yards and 13 touchdowns.

Burrow, the Central region winner, ranks fourth in a class of 163 and was a team captain and Forester defensive leader in interceptions and tackles, the leading wide receiver with 28 catches and set a school record for punt-return yardage.

Special achievement awards were given to Class 2A state champion Hereford High, to Johns Hopkins University, which finished in a three-way tie for the Centennial Conference title and won the Eastern College Athletic Conference Southwest title game, and to the Pop Warner midget division (11-14) national champion Northwood Rams.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.