Scholar athlete dinner will honor 89 players


High Schools

March 16, 2003|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

Eighty-nine state football players will be honored Wednesday at the 40th annual Scholar Athlete Awards dinner at Martin's West in Woodlawn.

Five regional scholarship winners will be selected, with one of those chosen as the grand prize winner. A total of $10,000 will be awarded to the winners.

The event, which will start at 6 p.m., is sponsored by the Greater Baltimore Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.

Special achievement awards will be presented to Class 2A state champion Hereford High, Johns Hopkins University, which finished in a three-way tie for the Centennial Conference title and won the Eastern College Athletic Conference Southwest title game, and the Pop Warner midget division (11-14) national champion Northwood Rams. The Gilman School also will be honored with the A. Paul Menton award.

WMAR-TV sportscaster Keith Mills will serve as master of ceremonies.

For ticket information, call 410-668-0901.

The scholar-athlete nominees:

Matt Akman, Pikesville; Andrew Anuszewski, North County; Lyle Armacost, Archbishop Curley; Paul Atueyi, Randallstown; Matthew Barwick, Centennial; Richard Bassler, Francis Scott Key; Matthew Bettleyon, Kenwood; Christopher Bianco, Loyola; Timothy Blasi, Hammond; Steven Bloom, Mount Hebron; Robert Booker Jr., Overlea; Nicholas Bowen, Chesapeake (AA); Michael Branson, Parkville; Scott Brosig, Arundel; Ryan Brown, Lansdowne; Tavon Burrow, Forest Park; Edward Capel, Walbrook.

David Cockey, North Carroll; Patrick Cook-Deegan, Annapolis; Bryan DeMoss, Middletown; Larry Dixon, Dunbar; Thomas Doran, Archbishop Spalding; Todd Evans, Franklin; Bradley Ferriell, Dulaney; Jon Feustle, Catonsville; Hampson Fields III, Wilde Lake; Brooks Fisher, Mount St. Joseph; Matthew Gaines, Edgewood; Kevin Ganascioli, Glenelg; Jamar Garner, Thomas Johnson; Andrew Goldbeck, Calvert Hall; Adam Goloboski, Hereford; Ronald Gontasz, Patapsco; Michael Goodman, Glen Burnie.

Sean Grace, Old Mill; Arron Heffner, Severn; Eric High, C. Milton Wright; Byron Hildebrand, Brunswick; Jeffrey Hoffman, Severna Park; Bryan Hughes, Fallston; Brandon Hykon, Cardinal Gibbons; Donald Jackson Jr., Edmondson; Robert Jones Jr., Eastern Tech; Owen Jordan, John Carroll; Jonathan Katz, Owings Mills; Dennis Lange, Oakland Mills; John Liberto, Perry Hall; Patrick Mahoney, Boys' Latin; Christopher Martin, River Hill; Geovanny Martinez, Frederick; Timothy McNulty, Howard; Jake Mead, South Carroll.

Charles Mick III, Woodlawn; Ryan Nesbitt, Catoctin; Daniel O'Malley, Bel Air; Ryan Pope, Long Reach; Brannon Powell, Mergenthaler; Kevin Pulley Jr., City College; Ryan Rager, Meade; Pierce Reeves, Loch Raven; Matthew Reynolds, Urbana; Jeremy Rife, Liberty; Christopher Robertson, St. Paul's; Chris Robinson, Joppatowne; Jamal Rose, Western Tech; Paul Rose, Northeast; Edward Rychwalski III, Harford Tech; William Sale, Friends; Timothy Sartwell, Linganore; David Schanuel, Walkersville; Jonathan Shriner, St. Mary's.

Bruce Simpson Jr., Havre de Grace; Robert Sise, Broadneck; William Staples, Atholton; Jason Stone, Westminster; Nicholas Trionfo, Dundalk; Daniel Turley, Southern-AA; Daniel Tyrell, North Harford; Tony Vo, Sparrows Point; Gerald W. Von Ahn, South River; Abraham Walker, Northwestern; David Wells Jr., McDonogh; Dwayne Whittington, Patterson; Bryan Wilson-Braxton, Chesapeake (BC); Ambrose Wooden Jr., Gilman; Shawn Wooden, Carver ; Steven Yinger, Milford Mill; Eric Young, Poly; Michael Ziegler, Towson.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.