February 14, 2003



MARLINS: Signed OF Al Martin to minor-league contract.

METS: Signed P David Cone to minor-league contract.

PHILLIES: Waived P Elio Serrano. Purchased contract of C Todd Pratt from Triple-A Scranton/Wilkes Barre.

ROCKIES: Agreed to terms with P Jose Jimenez on one-year contract. Claimed P Elio Serrano off waivers from Phillies.


STING (WNBA): Named Bernie Bickerstaff vice president and general manager. Promoted assistant coach Trudi Lacey to coach.


SEC: Announced the resignation of assistant commissioner Eugene Byrd.

MISSISSIPPI: Announced that G Jonathan Loe has left men's basketball team and plans to transfer.

OKLAHOMA: Named Kevin Sumlin tight ends coach.

PURDUE: Named Dave Shondell volleyball coach.

RADFORD: Suspended senior Raymond Arrington, junior Ray Noiles and freshmen Jason Bees and Chris Prince from men's basketball team, and junior Cody Silker from women's basketball team two games each for violation of athletic department policy. Suspended junior Aaron Gill from men's basketball team one game for violation of athletic department policy.

WESTERN CAROLINA: Named David Napert offensive line coach.


CARDINALS: Signed RB Damien Anderson, K Tim Duncan and DB Quentin Harris.

DOLPHINS: Named Glenn Pires assistant defensive line coach.

GIANTS: Signed TE Mark Inkrott and long snapper Mike Malczyk.

LIONS: Named Kevin O'Dea assistant special teams coach.

PACKERS: Signed WR/return specialist Martin Dossett.

PANTHERS: Named Sal Sunseri defensive line coach and Mike Trgovac defensive coordinator.

SAINTS: Named Jerry Palmieri assistant strength and conditioning coach.

SEAHAWKS: Named John Marshall linebackers coach.

TEXANS: Signed DE John Gilmore.

VIKINGS: Signed KR-RB John Avery.


NHL: Suspended Lightning F Andre Roy for three games, without pay, for shoving an official during a game on Tuesday.

STARS: Placed G Marty Turco and F Brenden Morrow on the injured list.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.