Annapolis boys cruise, Hebron girls squeak by

Depth in distance, field aids boys

Fakory wins 500, 3,200 relay for Vikes

Indoor track and field

High Schools

January 08, 2003|By Edward Lee | Edward Lee,SUN STAFF

LANDOVER - For the Annapolis boys indoor track and field team, last night's meet pitting six Anne Arundel and six Howard squads was a walk in the park. For the Mount Hebron girls, it was a kick in the pants.

The top-ranked Panthers boys used their considerable depth in the distance and field events to outpace 11 schools by at least 28 points, while the No. 5 Vikings girls didn't exhale a sigh of relief until the final event before squeezing out a 10-point victory at the Prince George's Sports & Learning Complex.

For Annapolis, the meet was a prime example of spreading the wealth. On a night when coach Charles Gross acknowledged that the team's strength - its sprint corps - was less than overwhelming, the squad earned crucial points from its distance and field areas.

Senior Cardray Moulden's first-place finish of 12 feet in the pole vault, senior Jawaan Petty's winning throw of 42 feet, 9 inches in the shot put, and senior Demario Harris' tie for second with 6 feet in the high jump accounted for 27 of the Panthers' 86 points.

Junior Jonathan Julian's first-place mark of 10 minutes, 7.7 seconds in the 3,200, sophomore Will Eden's winning time of 4:36.9 in the 1,600, and the 3,200 relay squad's fifth-place finish contributed another 21 points.

"Our distance runners and field events carried the meet today," Gross said. "Our sprints scored well, but some didn't work through the [holiday] break as they should have. ... It's a true blessing to have depth."

Throw in Harris' win in the 55 hurdles in 8.0 seconds and Moulden's teaming with senior Chris Menendez and juniors Larry Beavers and Derrick Wallace to win the 1,600 relay in 3:32.2, and it's easy to see why Annapolis marched past runner-up Old Mill, which compiled 58 points.

Wins by junior Anthony Littlejohn in the 800 (2:04.9), the 800 relay squad (1:35.7) and the 3,200 relay team (8:43.0) pushed the Patriots to second.

Despite not fielding a single winner, Meade placed third with 46 points. Mount Hebron senior Damon Gasque won the high jump (6-2), helping the No. 4 Vikings finish fourth with 45 points.

No. 10 Broadneck was fifth with 36 points, while No. 6 Oakland Mills was sixth with 32 - 200 of which came from senior Tony Cole's wins in the 55 (6.3 seconds) and the 300 (35.7 seconds).

Glenelg junior Drew Graybeal won the 500 (1:08.3).

On the girls side, Mount Hebron held a slim six-point lead over River Hill heading into the final event, the 1,600 relay. But the Hawks didn't enter a team, while the Vikings finished fourth and sealed a 66-56 victory.

Junior Darya Fakory accounted for 25 points with wins in the 500 (1:24.7) and in the 3,200 relay with senior Katie Mason and juniors Elise Lindemayer and Erin McAninch (10:09.6), a fourth in the 800 and a sixth in the 1,600.

Senior Jeanette Curtis contributed 19 points with a win in the 55 hurdles (8.3), a second in the 55 and a sixth in the 800 relay, but Mount Hebron coach Mark Reedy said the jolt was a little too close for comfort.

"We may have started to think that we were better than we are," he said. "Hard work is the beginning and the end of this team. Without hard work, it diminishes what we can do."

River Hill freshman Tish Carter and junior Joung Park went 1-2 in the high jump and junior Kandance Ramseur won the 55 (7.5 seconds), helping the Hawks to place second.

Annapolis senior Calynn Offer won the pole vault (8-6) to lift the Panthers to third with 51 points, while Chesapeake of Anne Arundel was fourth with 50.5.

Glenelg sophomore Mallory Heinke won the 1,600 (5:32.6), and the 1,600 relay squad won in 4:34.7, helping the Gladiators place fifth with 46 points.

Broadneck sophomore Emily Nagle joined Fakory as a double winner in the 800 (2:28.4) and the 3,200 (12:03.9)

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.