Block Award names 32 NFL recipients

Program also will feature tribute to Unitas, Colts

January 07, 2003|By SPECIAL TO THE SUN

The Ed Block Courage Award Foundation yesterday announced the names of the 32 NFL recipients who will receive an Ed Block Courage Award on March 25 at the 25th anniversary of the Ed Block Courage Awards. The event will be held at the Baltimore Convention Center.

The inaugural Ed Block Courage Award was presented in 1978 to Baltimore Colts defensive end Joe Ehrmann. Since then, the Courage Award has expanded to include every team in the NFL.

In addition to honoring the NFL players, the 25th anniversary gala also will feature a tribute to late Hall of Fame quarterback John Unitas and the Baltimore Colts. The event also is scheduled to honor the Pro Football Weekly Assistant Coach of the Year and the 2002 NFL Athletic Training Staff of the Year from the Dallas Cowboys.

The award is named after Ed Block, the head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts for 23 years. Block was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian whose most passionate cause was helping children of abuse. All proceeds from the event will benefit the Foundation's Courage House National Support Network.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.