County schools honored for improvement

November 24, 2002

The Maryland State Department of Education has recognized 23 Carroll County public schools for qualifying for the School Performance Recognition Program.

Cash awards are given to elementary and middle schools that show substantial and sustained progress toward achieving state standards for school performance in reading and math. The program provides an incentive for schools to improve and recognizes teachers, principals, parents and community members for bringing about positive change in student learning. The schools received a total of $42,759.08.

The state has allocated $2.75 million for the program. The amount of the awards depends upon the number of schools qualifying and the number of awards each school has earned. The school improvement team in winning schools determines how the money will be used.

Of the 23 Carroll schools receiving cash awards, 19 showed marked improvement among students with disabilities.

Schools receiving the awards are Cranberry Station Elementary, Eldersburg Elementary, Elmer A. Wolfe Elementary, Freedom Elementary, Friendship Valley Elementary, Linton Springs Elementary, Manchester Elementary, Mechanicsville Elementary, Mount Airy Elementary, Mount Airy Middle, New Windsor Middle, North Carroll Middle, Oklahoma Road Middle, Piney Ridge Elementary, Robert Moton Elementary, Spring Garden Elementary, Sykesville Middle, Taneytown Elementary, Westminster East Middle, Westminster Elementary, Westminster West Middle, William Winchester Elementary and Winfield Elementary.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.