Ehrlich strength offers legislative boost

GOP in Baltimore County picks up several seats in House, none in Senate

Election 2002

November 06, 2002|By Andrew A. Green and Laura Barnhardt | Andrew A. Green and Laura Barnhardt,SUN STAFF

Republican Gov.-elect Robert L. Ehrlich Jr.'s strong performance in Baltimore County provided modest coattails for his party, as the GOP picked up several seats in the House of Delegates but none in the state Senate.

Republican Sen. Andrew P. Harris, who found himself in an almost completely unfamiliar district thanks to a last-minute redrawing of lines by the Maryland Court of Appeals, beat challenger Del. Diane DeCarlo in the 7th District, which includes Cockeysville, Middle River and parts of Harford County.

But in the Towson-based 42nd District, which had no incumbent senator, Democrat James Brochin, who spent nearly three years knocking on doors, turned back a challenge by Republican Del. Martha S. Klima.

Emphasizing their ties to Ehrlich -- who won 60.9 percent of the vote in the county -- and preaching a message of fiscal conservatism, the three delegate candidates on Klima's ticket captured seats in the 42nd District. Susan L.M. Aumann, 42, an accountant from Timonium; William J. Frank, 42, the development director for a private school from Lutherville; and John G. Trueschler, 45, an attorney and landscape architect from Timonium, all were victorious.

Del. James W. Campbell, 54, a Democrat who moved from Baltimore to Ruxton to stay in the 42nd District, lost for the first time in 20 years. Democrats Stephen W. Lafferty, 53, of Stoneleigh, who works in community revitalization for the state, and Matthew Joseph, 36, of Towson, who is on leave from his lobbying job with Advocates for Children and Youth, also failed to win seats, as did Green Party candidate Rick Kunkel, 44, a social worker from Rodgers Forge.

In the 7th District, Del. Nancy M. Hubers, 71, a Bowleys Quarters Democrat, lost her bid for re-election as Republicans won all three seats. They include Pat McDonough, 59, a radio talk-show host and president of a nonprofit youth organization; J.B. Jennings, 28, a feed store owner and former Ehrlich aide; and Rick Impallaria, 39, an Essex auto body shop owner.

The Republicans defeated Democrats Randy Cogar, 56, a Middle River printing shop owner, and Donna M. Felling, 52, a Glen Arm nurse, along with Libertarian Michael F. Linder, 41, of Abingdon.

In Dundalk, a community that rebelled against the Democratic redistricting plan that would have split their community among three legislative districts, Democrats swept the legislative races.

Sen. Norman R. Stone Jr. was unopposed for re-election in the 6th District, and Dels. John S. Arnick, 68, and Joseph J. "Sonny" Minnick, 69, both were re-elected. Michael H. Weir Jr., 54, of Essex, whose father served in the legislature from the area for 28 years, also won. All four are Democrats.

Republicans Paul M. Blitz, 39, a private school teacher and Army reservist; Jane Brooks, 51, a former Ehrlich aide and accounting clerk; and Bruce Liang, 48, a restaurant owner from Rocky Point, all failed in their bids for a 6th District seat.

In the 8th District, which includes Parkville, White Marsh and Perry Hall, Del. Katherine A. Klausmeier, a Democrat, handily defeated Republican John Cluster Jr. of Parkville for the seat vacated by Thomas L. Bromwell.

Two Republicans won delegate seats in the district: Del. Alfred W. Redmer Jr., 46, of Perry Hall, who was seeking re-election, and his ticket-mate, Joseph C. Boteler III, 53, a printing company owner from Carney. Bromwell's son, Eric Bromwell, 25, a government relations coordinator for Comcast Corp. and a Democrat, won the third seat.

Bromwell's running mates Tim Caslin, 51, a retired police officer from Carney, and Todd L. Schuler, 25, a law clerk, and Republican Mike Rupp, 40, a county firefighter and former Carney Improvement Association president, failed to win seats.

In District 12, Democrats swept the races. Sen. Edward J. Kasemeyer, 57, beat Republican challenger Mike Sneeringer Sr., 67. Del. James E. Malone Jr., 45, and Steven J. DeBoy Sr., 46, a retired county police officer from Halethorpe, defeated Republicans Joe Hooe, 34, a businessman from Lansdowne, and Harry Korrell, 65, a former Naval officer from Catonsville.

Other races in the county offered few surprises.

In District 5B, which covers the GOP strongholds in the rural north county, Republican Del. A. Wade Kach, 55, won handily over Phoenix attorney Stephen C. Kirsch and independent candidate William T. Newton, 50, a carpenter from Reisterstown.

In the 10th District, which includes Randallstown and Woodlawn, all four incumbent Democrats won easy victories, despite a fracturing of their ticket from internal disputes. Sen. Delores G. Kelley defeated Republican challenger Robbie Paige, 68, a former moving company comptroller. Dels. Emmet C. Burns Jr., Adrienne A.W. Jones and Shirley Nathan Pulliam bested Republican Steven D'Arezzo, 31, a draftsman from Randallstown.

Democrats also swept the 11th District, which includes Pikesville and Owings Mills. Sen. Paula C. Hollinger had a clear advantage over Republican Alan P. Zuckerberg, 56, a retired lawyer from Pikesville. Dels. Dan K. Morhaim, 53, a physician from Owings Mills, and Robert A. Zirkin, 31, an Owings Mills lawyer, won seats, along with Jon Cardin, 32, a Lutherville lawyer and nephew of Rep. Benjamin L. Cardin.

Republicans J. Michael Collins Sr., 53, a kitchen designer from Reisterstown; Grant I. Harding, 65, a semiretired auctioneer from Owings Mills; and Betty Wagner, 58, a bookkeeper and accountant for a Baltimore law firm who lives in Reisterstown, all were defeated.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.