McDaniel homecoming to feature football, parade, fireworks, awards

Green Terrors to play host to Dickinson Red Devils

October 18, 2002

The McDaniel College Green Terrors will play host to the Dickinson Red Devils in the college's homecoming football game at 1 p.m. tomorrow in Scott S. Bair Stadium.

Alumni Headquarters will offer children's games, starting at 9 a.m., on the upper practice field behind the scoreboard.

Drive-in stadium parking is $5 per vehicle.

The Green Terror Invitational Volleyball Tournament will begin at 9 a.m. tomorrow in Gill Center. Admission is free. The tournament will include teams from McDaniel College, Moravian College, the College of Notre Dame of Maryland, Gallaudet University, King's College, the Richard Stockton College of New Jersey, Eastern University, Salisbury University and the University of Scranton.

The Wrestling Alumni tournament will begin at 11 a.m. in Gill Gym, and the Field Hockey Alumni Tournament at noon on the Hockey Field.

The Home of Champions Homecoming Parade will start at noon from East Middle School to Main Street to the college. The parade will feature Alumni Association award winners and floats designed and built by McDaniel College student groups.

Football halftime festivities will include a performance by the McDaniel College Pom Dance Squad, the Homecoming Court and presentation of the James Brant Memorial Cup, given to the McDaniel College fraternity or sorority that excels in academics, varsity sports, leadership and community service.

The celebrations will conclude with fireworks at 8 p.m. tomorrow on the practice field next to Gill Center. Nearby residents can expect to hear loud bursts from the fireworks and are asked not to call emergency officials.

Homecoming honorees include:

2002 Alumna of the Year: Kathy Moore Rittler, '68, M.Ed., '75.

Meritorious Service Award honorees: Caroline Babylon, '76, M.A., '92; Phil Enstice, '71; Andy Kalisperis, '98; and Caroline Benson Tringali, '85.

Alumni Community Award honorees: David Bailey, '57; Tracy Kennard Imm, '87; and Harris LeFew, '51.

Other honorees: Frank Bowe, '69, and Eric Byrd, '93, Distinguished Alumni Award; and Janice Mooney Hobart, '63, Alumni Admissions Award.

Information: 410-857-2296.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.