For The Record


October 17, 2002


Auto racing

NASCAR: Placed Todd Bodine on probation until Dec. 31 for careless driving. Fined Tommy Baldwin, crew chief for Wally Dallenbach, $25,000 for failing post-race inspection and Mike Ford, crew chief for Bill Elliott, $2,000 for allowing team member over wall without helmet at Lowe's Motor Speedway on Sunday.


MAJOR LEAGUE BASEBALL PLAYERS ASSOCIATION: Members voted Rangers SS Alex Rodriguez Player of the Year and AL Outstanding Player, Giants OF Barry Bonds NL Outstanding Player, Athletics' Barry Zito AL Outstanding Pitcher, Diamondbacks' Curt Schilling NL Outstanding Pitcher, Blue Jays 3B Eric Hinske AL Rookie of the Year, Rockies P Jason Jennings NL Rookie of the Year, Braves P John Smoltz and Phillies C Mike Lieberthal NL Comeback Players of the Year, Angels OF Tim Salmon AL Comeback Player of the Year and Smoltz winner of Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award for contributions to community.

ASTROS: Announced that C Brad Ausmus exercised $5.5 million contract option for 2003.

DODGERS: Acquired P Brian Mallette from Brewers to complete earlier trade.

INDIANS: Declined to exercise $6 million contract option on Jaret Wright. Sent contract of P Dave Elder outright to Triple-A Buffalo; re-signed him to minor-league contract.

ORIOLES: Signed P Rendy Espina, P Mike Garcia, P Mike Mohler, P Rafael Pina, C Izzy Molina and SS Eddy Garabito to minor-league contracts.

PHILLIES: Named John Morris coach for Double-A Reading; Roly De Armas manager for Single-A Clearwater; Dan Held coach for Single-A Lakewood; Jim Morrison coach for short-season Single-A Batavia; Ruben Amaro Sr. manager and Ramon Aviles coach for Rookie-level Gulf Coast Phillies.

PIRATES: Announced that contract of trainer Kent Biggerstaff will not be renewed.


GRIZZLIES: Announced that arena being built for team will be called FedExForum.

ROCKETS: Released C Brandon Kurtz and C Sonny Watson.


BENTLEY: Inducted baseball P Jim McCready, Baltimore resident and 1991 graduate, to school's Athletic Hall of Fame.

CLEMSON: Dismissed CB Kevin Johnson from football team for academic reasons.

CURRY: Named Neal Anderson men's lacrosse coach.

SOUTHWEST TEXAS: Extended contract of men's basketball coach Dennis Nutt through 2004-05 season.

VILLA JULIE: Announced hiring of Branda Yoo as women's lacrosse coach.


NFL: Named following Players of the Week: NFC offensive, Rams QB Marc Bulger; NFC defensive, Saints DE Darren Howard; NFC special teams, Saints KR Michael Lewis; AFC offensive, Bills RB Travis Henry; AFC defensive, Dolphins DE Jason Taylor; and AFC special teams, Colts K Mike Vanderjagt.

BEARS: Waived DE Keith McKenzie. Signed long snapper Jody Littleton to one-year contract.

CHIEFS: Placed DT Ryan Sims on IR. Signed DT Nate Hobgood-Chittick to one-year contract.

49ERS: Placed FB Terry Jackson on IR after he tore ligament in knee. Activated DL Ross Kolodziej from practice squad. Signed FB Jasen Isom to practice squad.

JAGUARS: Waived LB Edward Thomas. Activated DE Javor Mills from IR. Signed LB Duke Pettijohn to practice squad.

PATRIOTS: Signed WR Scott McCready to practice squad. Released WR T.C. Taylor from practice squad.

VIKINGS: Placed G Ed Ta'amu on injured list. Signed TE Jeff Kostrewa, RB Jeremy Allen and T Matt Anderle to practice squad.


NHL: Suspended Lightning F Chris Dingman for two games, without pay, for high-sticking Hurricanes F Jesse Boulerice in game Saturday. Fined Boulerice $1,000 for his role.

STARS: Signed D Trevor Daley to three-year contract.


COURT OF ARBITRATION FOR SPORT: Rejected Alain Baxter's appeal, meaning he will not get back Olympic slalom bronze medal taken away after he tested positive for banned stimulant methamphetamine.


MLS: Named Revolution's Steve Nicol Coach of the Year and Crew M Kyle Martino Rookie of the Year.

FORCE (MISL): Fired coach Mike Pilge. Named Andy Schmetzer interim coach.

Track and field

NATIONAL TRACK & FIELD HALL OF FAME: Will induct following Dec. 6: pole vaulter Earl Bell, middle distance runner Steve Scott, sprinter Gwen Torrence and race walker Larry Young.


Women's basketball

Mid-Eastern Athletic

Conference preseason

First team

C Nicole Brathwaite, Hampton F Lauren Forsthoff, Bethune-Cookman F Courtney Kirk, Howard G Nicole Rhem, South Carolina State G LaShondra Dixon, Hampton Player of the Year: LaShondra Dixon, Hampton

Second team

C LaWanda Newman, Norfolk State F LeKesha Wills, Coppin State F Nefertia Franklin, UMES G Erinn Coleman, Morgan State G Asia Petty, Howard

Men's soccer

Johns Hopkins 11, Alvernia 0

Women's soccer

Maryland 3, George Mason 0 Pitt.-Greensburg 4, Frostburg St. 0 St. Mary's 5, Gallaudet 1

Field hockey

Millersville 1, IUP 0 Slippery Rock 3, Frostburg St. 2


Catonsville CC def. Baltimore City CC, 30-4, 30-10, 30-11 Coll. of Notre Dame def. Wilson, 30-17, 30-17, 30-16 Gettysburg def. McDaniel, 30-15, 30-22, 30-23 Johns Hopkins def. Washington Coll., 30-17, 30-23, 30-18 Loyola def. Drexel, 30-18, 33-31, 17-30, 30-28



Yesterday's results

Milwaukee 98, L.A. Clippers 76 Indiana 91, Denver 86 New York 87, Sacramento 84 Portland 110, Seattle 98




At Foxboro, Mass. L.A. vs. New England, 1:30 p.m.


Next for Blast

Saturday vs. Milwaukee, 7:35 p.m.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.