Wagner repeats in Governor's Cup

Skipper captures trophy as best in fleet 2nd time


August 04, 2002|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

Don Wagner, sailing Der Baron, won the best-in-fleet trophy for the second year in a row yesterday in the 29th Governor's Cup Yacht Race on the Chesapeake Bay.

The 70-mile race for non-professionals began Friday at the entrance to Annapolis Harbor and finished in the early hours yesterday on the shores of the St. Mary's River in Southern Maryland.

There were 161 yachts registered for the race, drawing thousands of fans to St. Mary's College, the host of the event.

Wagner, a 25-year Cup veteran from Shady Side, took first in the PHRF A-2 class with a corrected time of 11 hours, 26 minutes and 23 seconds.

Sailors faced strong winds of 10 to 17 knots and choppy waves in the upwind race. Winds lightened at dawn, providing a colorful spinnaker run to the finish.

The Maryland Dove, a replica of a 17th century square rigger, served as the start boat for the second year in a row. The Pride of Baltimore II made its debut as the finish boat.

Sjambok finished first in the PHRF A-0 class with a time of 11:26:06.

Final results

PHRF A-0: Michael Brinnan (Sjambok), Potomac, 11:26:06; Ben Corson (Narrow Escape), Baltimore, 11:39:04; Tom Johnson (Altair), Annapolis, 11:40:20 PHRF A-1: Don Chapman (Le Cygne), Alexandria, Va., 11:25:45; Tom Carrico (Air Mail), Arnold, 11:49:23; Sylvan Chaix (George's II), Sparks, 11:51:43 PHRF A-2: Don Wagner (Der Baron), Shady Side, 11:26:23; R. Watson (Windward), Tracy's Landing, 11:36:45 PHRF B-1: Jack Yaissle (Aspire), Allentown, Pa., 11:22:00; Ed Tracey (Incommunicado), Severna Park, 11:25:21; C.B. Hass (High Mar 2), York, Pa., 11:28:29 PHRF B-2: Howard Stroterhoff (Intuition), Baltimore, 10:05:23; John Stefancik (Hurricane Kelley), Sevena Park, 10:5954; Eric Wulff (Epicurus), Washington, 11:42:17 PHRF C: Bob Fleck (Horizon), Alexandria, Va., 11:09:01; Bill and Carol Paul (Rebecca), Pasadena, 11:36:00; Steve Culfogenis (Cookie), Bowie, 11:43:07 PHRF D: C. Ehle (Windsong), N/A, 11-44-21; Doug Abbott (Freestyle), Chester 12:52:45 PHRF N: Kurt Muller (Valkyrie), Annapolis, 10:56:17; Mark Pierce (Izzy Bee), West River, 11:38:25; Ed Poe (Ravenous), Towson, 11:39:40 Multihull: Phillip Wadsworth (Conkler), Arnold, 14:04:32; A.T. Smith (Gemini 105 MC), Annapolis, N/A; Kiyoshi Mizuuchi (Salty Slug), Rockville, 15:11:03.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.