White named to ACC team

Terps' Esiason, S. Jones, Pellegrini also are named to 50th anniversary squad

College Football

July 24, 2002|By Christian Ewell | Christian Ewell,SUN STAFF

PINEHURST, N.C. - Randy White, a Maryland defensive tackle and Pro Football Hall of Famer, was named yesterday to the Atlantic Coast Conference's 50th Anniversary Team, consisting of the league's best 50 players of the past half-century.

White, 49, who played in College Park from 1972 to 1974, was one of four Terrapins named to the team, which was picked by a panel of 120 voters. Quarterback Boomer Esiason (1981-1983), defensive tackle Stan Jones (1951-1953) and center Bob Pellegrini (1953-1955) were the other three who played at Maryland.

Jones is the earliest player to make the team, while North Carolina's Julius Peppers is the most recent, having been the No. 2 overall pick in this April's NFL draft.

Yesterday's team is one of the many that the ACC will announce during the next nine months to observe the league's 50th year.

"We want to celebrate the events and individuals that have made the league what it is today," conference commissioner John Swofford said yesterday. "One way to do that is to have those 50th anniversary teams."

Nearly 14 years after he ended his 15-year career with the Dallas Cowboys, White looked at yesterday's announcement as if he could still play.

He spoke of his life owning restaurants and a telephone company in Prosper, Texas, from which he also makes public speaking engagements.

He remembered an old graduate assistant named Ralph Friedgen "foaming at the mouth whenever he got mad," and he recalled his experiences leading Maryland from a struggling program into the Top 20 during Jerry Claiborne's tenure in the early 1970s.

White said he didn't remember much being expected from him when he came to College Park from Wilmington, Del., and being told by the Maryland staff: "We don't know if you're going to be able to play at Maryland, but we're going to give you a scholarship."

That question got answered sometime before he had finished collecting 122 tackles for losses, earning Associated Press All-America honors in 1973 and being honored similarly across the board the next year.

Earlier this month, the Raleigh (N.C.) News & Observer selected White as the best player in ACC history.

"Anytime you get honored as one of the best players, it makes you feel good," he said, "but it also makes you appreciate the guys you were with when you were there."

Others with area ties included current Ravens linebacker and former Florida State defensive end Peter Boulware, as well as former Colts running back Don McCauley, who was also at the Pinehurst Resort for the announcement.

McCauley played 11 years for the Colts after performing as a two-time All-American for North Carolina. Now in the New York City area, he spoke fondly of his time in Baltimore.

"I loved the city of Baltimore," he said. "If I'd known I was going to stay as long as I did, I would have moved there."

Each of the nine ACC schools will hold an on-campus event to honor its members of the 50th Anniversary Team.

Maryland's is scheduled for Sept. 14, the day of the Florida State game.

Bill Armstrong, Wake Forest (1973-1976)

Tiki Barber, Virginia (1993-1996)

Dre' Bly, North Carolina (1996-1998)

Joe Bostic, Clemson (1975-1978)

Peter Boulware, Florida State (1994-1996)

Derrick Brooks, Florida State (1991-1994)

Ted Brown, N.C. State (1975-1978)

Kelvin Bryant, North Carolina (1979-1982)

Jerry Butler, Clemson (1975-1978)

Dennis Byrd, N.C. State (1965-1967)

Dick Christy, N.C. State (1955-1957)

Marco Coleman, Georgia Tech (1989-1991)

Bennie Cunningham, Clemson (1973-1975)

Jeff Davis, Clemson (1978-1981)

Jim Dombrowski, Virginia (1982-1985)

Warrick Dunn, Florida State (1993-1996)

Boomer Esiason, Maryland (1981-1983)

Steve Fuller, Clemson (1975-1978)

William Fuller, North Carolina (1980-1983)

Roman Gabriel, N.C. State (1960-1961)

Joe Hamilton, Georgia Tech (1996-1999)

Alex Hawkins, South Carolina (1956-1958)

Clarkston Hines, Duke (1986-1989)

Torry Holt, N.C. State (1995-1998)

Sebastian Janikowski, Florida State (1997-1999)

Marvin Jones, Florida State (1990-1992)

Stan Jones, Maryland (1951-1953)

Terry Kinard, Clemson (1978-1982)

Amos Lawrence, North Carolina (1977-1980)

Bob Matheson, Duke (1964-1966)

Don McCauley, North Carolina (1968-1970)

Mike McGee, Duke (1957-1959)

Herman Moore, Virginia (1988-1990)

Bob Pellegrini, Maryland (1953-1955)

Julius Peppers, North Carolina (1999-2001)

Michael Dean Perry, Clemson (1984-1987)

William Perry, Clemson (1981-1984)

Brian Piccolo, Wake Forest (1962-1964)

Frank Quayle, Virginia (1966-1968)

Jim Ritcher, N.C. State (1976-1979)

Anthony Simmons, Clemson (1995-1997)

Chris Slade, Virginia (1988-1992)

Norm Snead, Wake Forest (1958-1960)

Ken Swilling, Georgia Tech (1988-1991)

Lawrence Taylor, North Carolina (1978-1980)

Mike Voight, North Carolina (1973-1976)

Charlie Ward, Florida State (1990-1993)

Peter Warrick, Florida State (1996-1999)

Chris Weinke, Florida State (1997-2000)

Randy White, Maryland (1972-1974)

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.