Dypski drops re-election effort as delegate from 46th District

July 19, 2002|By Howard Libit | Howard Libit,SUN STAFF

Del. Cornell N. Dypski, one of Baltimore's longest serving state legislators, ended his bid for re-election yesterday on the deadline for candidates to withdraw from General Assembly races.

Dypski is the second incumbent from Southeast Baltimore's 46th District to drop out this week, making his decision days after the withdrawal of Sen. Perry Sfikas.

"We all know that redistricting is a bloodletting, tortuous process," said Dypski, 70. "I reached the conclusion that it was time to go."

A delegate since 1987 and vice chairman of the city's House legislative delegation since 1991, Dypski previously had served two terms in the state Senate, from 1975 to 1983. He lost his Senate seat due to the 1980 legislative redistricting.

Under Maryland's new legislative map, the 46th District has been redrawn to include the district of Sen. George W. Della Jr., throwing together the two incumbent Democratic senators and five incumbent Democratic delegates.

Sfikas' withdrawal influenced him, Dypski said. Campaign literature promoting Sfikas at the top of the Democratic ticket had been printed and an office opened. "We were all set to go," Dypski said. "I was kind of shocked at hearing his decision."

Dypski's withdrawal leaves four incumbent delegates - William H. Cole, Peter A. Hammen, Carolyn Krysiak and Brian K. McHale.

Della, who now is unopposed for Senate, was said last night to be forming a ticket with Hammen, McHale and Darren Petty, a local United Auto Workers official.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.