Last-minute filings create Balto. Co. races

Executive, council, court candidates gain opposition in primaries

July 03, 2002|By Andrew A. Green and Dennis O'Brien | Andrew A. Green and Dennis O'Brien,SUN STAFF

A last-minute rush of candidates filed Monday for local offices in Baltimore County, creating unexpected primaries in the county executive, council and court races.

James T. Smith Jr., the former Circuit Court judge who had been unopposed in his quest for the Democratic nomination for county executive for nearly 10 months, faces a challenge from Joseph Walters Jr. of Bowleys Quarters. Douglas B. Riley, a former county councilman from Towson, is unopposed in the Republican primary.

In the council's 7th District, which covers Dundalk and parts of Essex, Council Chairman John A. Olszewski Sr. is being challenged by Debi Golden, a businesswoman and executive director of the Dundalk Chamber of Commerce. An independent, Theresa Lehmann, has also filed.

In the 5th District, which runs from Towson through Perry Hall to the Harford County line, Al Svehla, a longtime county worker with the departments of recreation and parks and planning, entered the Democratic primary against Councilman Vincent J. Gardina of Perry Hall.

Two Republicans, Councilman Wayne M. Skinner of Towson and Del. James F. Ports Jr. of Perry Hall, also are running.

3rd District council

Councilman T. Bryan McIntire, a Republican from Glyndon, faces two challengers in the primary in the north county's 3rd District: Daniel E. McKew, a businessman from Glen Arm, and Glen A. Thomas, a consultant and college counselor from Phoenix.

The most crowded council race is in the 4th District, which covers Woodlawn, Randallstown, parts of Owings Mills and the rural west county. Drawn to facilitate the election of the first African-American councilman, the district has no incumbent.

Seven in 4th District

Six Democrats are running for the seat: Charles E. Arthur, a member of the Democratic State Central Committee; Clifford J. Collins III, a former National Association for the Advancement of Colored People worker who runs a nonprofit group in Baltimore; Noel Levy, vice chairman of Citizens for Property Rights; Penny McCrimmon, a community and Democratic Party activist; Leo J. O'Brien, an Owings Mills real estate agent and schools activist; and Kenneth N. Oliver, a former chairman of the county planning board.

One Republican, Gail M. Thies, is seeking the seat. She is a substitute teacher who has worked on Republican campaigns, mostly in New York state.

In the 1st District, which covers Catonsville and Arbutus, Councilman Stephen G. Samuel Moxley, a Democrat, will again face former Councilwoman Berchie L. Manley, the Republican he unseated in 1994.

In the 2nd District, which includes Pikesville and parts of Owings Mills, incumbent Democrat Kevin Kamenetz is unopposed. In the 6th District, which runs from Parkville to Middle River, Councilman Joseph Bartenfelder, a Democrat, is unopposed.

Two court challengers

In the race for the three seats open on the county Circuit Court, two lawyers are challenging the three judges appointed by Gov. Parris N. Glendening.

Patrick Cavanaugh of Dundalk and Allan Feigelson of Owings Mills are running against Judges Alexander Wright Jr., Ruth A. Jakuboski and Michael J. Finifter.

Jakubowski and Finifter were sworn in this spring. Wright was appointed to the District Court in 1993 and appointed twice to the Circuit Court, once in 1998 and a second time last year after he finished third in a race for two seats on the Circuit Court in 2000.

Cavanaugh has had a legal practice in Dundalk for 28 years. Feigelson practices commercial law in Laurel, but lives in Owings Mills.

Other races

The candidates in other races are:

Sheriff: Democrats Charles D. Cuddy, R. Jay Fisher and incumbent Sheriff Anne Karen Strasdauskas, and Republicans Joseph P. Callender and Norman M. Pepersack Jr.

Circuit Court clerk: Democrats Yvonne Clark, Kevin Rex Mooring and incumbent Suzanne Mensh, and Republican William T. Hill.

Register of wills: Democrat incumbent Grace G. Connolly and Republican George W. McCarter.

State's attorney: Republican Sandra A. O'Connor is unopposed.

Orphans' Court: Democrats Carol Andreone, Gordon Boone, Ronald Burdynski, Gloria J. Butta, Julie L. Ensor, Clyde R. Goodrum, Theresa A. Lawler and Marlene Pianowski, and Republicans Ray Allen, John Bunch and Louis M. Luperini.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.