Carroll Lutheran Village honors its volunteers

May 19, 2002

Carroll Lutheran Village recently presented 84 awards to resident and community volunteers at its annual Volunteer Recognition Breakfast.

Volunteer coordinator Maryann Leckron used the theme "Volunteers, a Gift to the Community" in expressing the village's gratitude to its 600 volunteers. Speakers included David Bollinger, golf committee co-chairman; Diane Armstrong, assistant director of nursing; and Dorothy Gilbert, Resident Association Council vice president.

Special awards were presented to Community Volunteers of the Year: Lisa Gavin for bringing her children to visit with the residents of Good Shepherd Way; Craig and Cindy Smith and children Ian, Shannon and Kyle, for coming each week to play bingo with Diven House residents; and Maxine Dixon for her garden therapy and singalongs with Health Care Center residents.

The Resident Volunteer of the Year award went to Peg Welkos for her work on behalf of residential living residents. The Resident in the Community award was given to Fran Bartlett for her work with Carroll County Food Sunday. Charles Poffinberger was given the Service Award for his preparatory work for worship services.

The Unsung Hero award went to Anna Shoemaker for her hours of service. A Group Volunteer award was presented to past and current auction planners: Thelma Reaver, Ed Leister, Sandy Ferguson, Bonnie Cooper, Bill Marks, Sally Marks, Marion Suski, and auctioneer Jan Hull. The Friends of the Village Auxiliary presented an award to Thelma Reaver.

Other honorees included those with five, 10, 15 and 20 years of volunteering as well as those giving more than 500, 1,000 and 5,000 hours to the village.

Five-year volunteers included: Louise Alexander, Ida Barnard, R. Wayne Barnes, Freda Birchett, Lyndale Brandon, Virginia Harry, Wilbur Harry, Nancy Helsel, the Rev. Stacy Marsh, Mary Moores, Carl Nobile, Ellis Pierce, Gloria Pierce, Jane Rohrbaugh, Mazie Rohrbaugh, the Rev. David Schafer, the Rev. Richard Scott, Gladys Stahley, Doris Stonebraker, the Rev. James Stutler, and Norman Weller.

Ten-year volunteers were: Mary Allen, Donna Barnett, Norma Cobourn, Helen Hoggard, Corilla Hundertmark, Kay Mackley, Idelle Ogburn, William Scott, Charlotte Snyder, and Virginia Wantz.

Fifteen-year volunteers included: Helen Chorpenning and the Rev. John Morrill.

Twenty-year volunteers were: Maxine Dixon, Zita Lescalleet, and Virginia Troxell.

Those volunteers honored for more than 500 hours of service included: Anna Marie Button, Norma Cobourn, Barbara Croft, Doris Dalton, Anna Marie Devilbiss, Bonnie Ferrier, Bette Heinrich, Minnie Hinkhaus, Shirley Kessler, Vivian Myers, Frances Richards, Martha Scalley, William Scott, Naomi Smith, James Thompson and Nettie Trail.

Those donating more than 1,000 hours were: Helen Chorpenning, Hazel Stansbury, Julia Devilbiss, Helen Englar, Louise Gross, Doris Harry, Catherine Hart, Catherine Krause, Zita Lescalleet, Thelma Reaver, Wilbur Shipley and Mickie White.

Christian Kessler, who used computer-aided design to assist the village with floor plans, was recognized for donating more than 5,000 hours.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.