Board of education to hold business meeting Wednesday

Education Notes

May 19, 2002

The Carroll County Board of Education will hold a business meeting at 3:30 p.m. Wednesday in Room 007 of the board offices in Westminster.

A work session on reading instruction for struggling readers will be held at 4:30 p.m.

The board offices are at 125 N. Court St. Information: 410-751- 3020.

County seeks suggestions for school calendar

The Carroll County public schools' Department of Human Resources is seeking suggestions and comments on the 2003-2004 school calendar.

Comments should be sent in writing by June 30 to Stephen Guthrie, Department of Human Resources, Carroll County public schools, 125 N. Court St., Westminster 21157.

The Board of Education encourages employee, student and community involvement in planning the school calendar.

Information: 410-751-3020.

Career center teacher, student receive awards

A Carroll County Career and Technology student and teacher recently received awards.

Rachael Schroeder received the Pro Start Student of the Year Award and a scholarship from the National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation. The awards recognized her efforts in the Culinary Arts program at the center. She is a senior at Liberty High School and plans to attend the Culinary Institute of America next year.

William Hill, the center's Career Connections Coordinator, received the American Association for Career Education Award for Excellence and Innovation. The Career Connections Program provides students the chance to explore career options in partnership with local businesses and industry.

61 Carroll college students inducted into honor society

Carroll Community College recently inducted 61 students into Alpha Psi Psi, a chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society of two-year colleges.

To become eligible for Phi Theta Kappa membership, students must earn a grade point average of at least 3.5 and compete 24 credit hours.

New opportunities in scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship are open to these students. The names of all new members will be published in the National Dean's List. Susan Sies is chapter adviser.

Inductees are: Vestal Abbott, Rebecca Armstrong, Colleen Bechtel, Omar Blanca, Sarah Block, Christine Boore, Kelly Bowers, Rebekah Briner, Heidi Browning, Ellen Brusca, Gregory Burness, Aaron Christman, Gregory Crouse, Candice DiSavino, Frances Dunn, Gwendolyn East, Jennifer Fink, Gayle Flomenbaum, Tina Francis, Rebecca Freed, Helen Garland, Carisa Hall, Douglas Harmer, Brian Hoare, Myfanwy Jacob, Linay Jessup, Jenifer Johnson, Jesse Johnson, Katie Keirle, Christine Kindilien, Thomas King, Laura Kovacs, Edward Kramer, Asiya Kyomugisha.

Also, Jessica Lesko-Breithaupt, Qinghua Liu, Eric Maffett, Molly Maloy, Charles Marenka, Buff Martin, James Matthews, David Mauk, Jessica Murphy, Jessica Nave, Kimberly Newman, Christine Nickels, Annastaysia Nolen, Theresa Otto, Susan Raver, Jennifer Rinebold, Rochelle Roscoe, Amanda Schuler, Megan Scilipoti, Amanda Seifert, Katherine Snyder, Robert Tanner, Adam Trice, Jessica Wesley, Marie Wheeler, Christopher Whitby, Jennifer Zeh.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.