WMC's commencement set for 2 p.m. Saturday

May 19, 2002

Western Maryland College will hold its 132nd commencement at 2 p.m. Saturday. Nearly 650 bachelor's and master's degrees will be awarded in the ceremony at Gill Center.

Joining the graduates will be honorary degree recipients Cokie Roberts, ABC News reporter and co-anchor, and Steve Roberts, contributing editor at U.S. News & World Report and a professor at George Washington University.

The husband-and-wife journalists will be hooded with a honorarydoctorate in journalism by board of trustees member Diane Rehm, host of National Public Radio's Diane Rehm Show.

The graduates and spectators will receive greetings from Bray Barnes, father of graduate Brian Barnes of Toms River, N.J.; and Mohamed Esa, associate professor of foreign languages.

The college will honor four retiring members of the WMC community: professor of education Joel Macht, who joined the faculty in 1994; head librarian David Neikirk, who came to the college in 1987; Howard Orenstein, associate professor of psychology, who joined the faculty in 1971; and Nancy Palmer, senior lecturer in English and director of the honors program, who joined the faculty in 1965.

This year's recipient of the Distinguished High School Teaching Award, which honors an outstanding secondary school teacher in Maryland, is Kathleen Frederick of Francis Scott Key High School.

Student awards include the Argonaut Award, which is presented yearly to the graduating seniors with the highest cumulative grade point average, and the Edith Farr Ridington Phi Beta Kappa Writing Award for the best honors papers.

At 9:30 a.m. Saturday in Alumni Hall, several members of the college's Army ROTC program will be commissioned as second lieutenants.

On Friday, WMC will hold its annual Baccalaureate Service at 7:30 p.m. in Baker Memorial Chapel.

Information: 410-857-2290.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.