For The Record

May 09, 2002


Auto racing

DREYER & REINBOLD RACING: Signed Sarah Fisher to drive No. 23 car in Indianapolis 500.

HENDRICK MOTORSPORTS: Released driver Jerry Nadeau.


ATHLETICS: Placed OF David Justice on 15-day DL with right groin strain. Recalled OF Eric Byrnes from Triple-A Sacramento.

BLUE JAYS: Placed OF Shannon Stewart on 15-day DL, retroactive to May 1, with strained right hamstring. Placed C Darrin Fletcher on 15-day DL, retroactive to May 6, with sprained right ankle. Called up OF Brian Lesher from Triple-A Syracuse. Designated IF Homer Bush for assignment. Recalled P Scott Cassidy from Triple-A Syracuse. Purchased contract of C Ken Huckaby from Syracuse. Transferred P Steve Parris from 15-day DL.

BREWERS: Placed P Nelson Figueroa on 15-day DL, retroactive to May 6, with sprained right ankle. Recalled P Brian Mallette from Triple-A Indianapolis.

CUBS: Placed P Donovan Osborne on 15-day DL. Recalled P Scott Chiasson from Triple-A Iowa.

DEVIL RAYS: Released 3B Bobby Smith. Recalled 3B Jared Sandberg from Triple-A Durham.

DIAMONDBACKS: Recalled IF Alex Cintron from Triple-A Tucson. Optioned P Erik Sabel to Tucson.

EXPOS: Recalled OF Troy O'Leary from Triple-A Ottawa. Optioned OF Henry Rodriguez to Ottawa.

MARINERS: Placed P Jeff Nelson (Catonsville High; Catonsville CC) on 15-day DL with bone chips in right elbow. Placed P Paul Abbott on 15-day DL, retroactive to May 6, with inflamed right shoulder. Recalled P Justin Kaye from Triple-A Tacoma. Will recall P Rafael Soriano from Double-A San Antonio.

ORIOLES: Acquired P Mike Drumwright from Red Sox for player to be named. Assigned Drumwright to Triple-A Rochester.

PADRES: Recalled P Andy Shibilo from Double-A Mobile. Optioned P Ben Howard to Mobile.

RANGERS: Placed OF Carl Everett on 15-day DL with strained right calf. Optioned P Rob Bell to Triple-A Oklahoma. Recalled P Francisco Cordero and OF Kevin Mench from Triple-A Oklahoma.

YANKEES: Activated P Sterling Hitchcock. Optioned P Adrian Hernandez to Triple-A Columbus.


ROCKERS (WNBA): Waived G Jameka Jones, G-F Jannon Roland and F Tere Williams.

SHOCK (WNBA): Announced that G Dominique Canty will miss six weeks with broken left hand that required surgery.


CENTENNIAL CONFERENCE: Named G Tim McGinnis (Loyola) of Gettysburg men's lacrosse Player of the Year. Following were among those named to men's lacrosse all-conference first team: A Joe Ellis (Oakland Mills), Western Maryland; A Jon Fellows, Washington; M Stephen Berger (Mount St. Joseph), Washington; M Brad Hopkins, Washington; M Jeremy Shannon, Washington; D Josh Hanlon, Western Maryland; G McGinnis, Gettysburg. Second team: A Craig Rentch (Annapolis), Washington; A Tom Brown (Hammond), Western Maryland; M Jon Singer (Boys' Latin), Franklin & Marshall; M Blake Atkins (Gilman), Swarthmore; M Greg Elko, Western Maryland; D Greg Fleetwood, Washington; D Matt Krug, Washington. Honorable mention: A Eric Kuehn (C.M. Wright), Washington; M Kris Weaver (Pallotti), Franklin & Marshall.

Named Kim Camponelli of Western Maryland softball Pitcher of the Year. Following were named to softball all-conference first team: P Camponelli, Western Maryland; 2B Julie Bahus (Spalding), Washington; OF Jen Fried (Franklin), Franklin & Marshall; Michelle Rodney, Washington; Lauren Cramer, Western Maryland; UT Samantha Abrams, Western Maryland. Second team: C Caitlin Burns (North County), Western Maryland; 1B Selena Smart, Western Maryland; 2B Kristen Barrick, Western Maryland; OF Jen Geiman (North Carroll), Western Maryland; OF Heather Sinclair (Westminster), Western Maryland; 3B Kimberly Paulus (Centennial), Ursinus; UT Andrea Braverman, Washington.

PENNSYLVANIA ATHLETIC CONFERENCE: Named following to men's lacrosse all-conference first team: A Dan Velez, Villa Julie (Fallston); A Bob Rinehimer, Villa Julie (Hereford); A Brett Hayden, Neumann (Archbishop Spalding); A Ed Wienecke, Villa Julie (Fallston); D Brian Davies, Villa Julie (Hereford), G John Reed, Wesley (Old Mill.

SEC: Is investigating alleged payments in February 1999 totaling $4,500 from Diane Sanford, then an executive at Aarco Insurance, forwarded to QB Tee Martin from Mobile (Ala.) Register sports reporter Wayne Rowe.

AMHERST: M Liz Martin (Bryn Mawr) was named to All-NESCAC women's lacrosse first team.

BUCKNELL: G Justin Sussman (Friends) was named to All-Patriot League men's lacrosse first team.

CREIGHTON: Announced that basketball G Terrell Taylor and basketball G Ismael Caro will transfer from school.

DELAWARE VALLEY: Named G.A. Mangus football coach.

DELTA STATE: Dismissed RB Derek Ambrose from football team for violating team policies.

DUBUQUE: Announced resignation of AD and men's basketball coach Michael Elbe.

JOHNS HOPKINS: Following were named to American Lacrosse Conference team: A Jamie Larrimore, M Heidi Pearce, and D Lacey-Leigh Hentz (North Carroll).

MISSOURI: Announced that sophomore basketball G Wesley Stokes will transfer.

MOUNT ST. MARY'S: Following were named to men's lacrosse All-Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference first team: D Sean Mahon, M Mark Cox (Hereford), A Josh Warfield. Second team: G Tom Dryer (Broadneck), M Graham Davids, A Kevin Merlini, M Billy Jautze.


BRONCOS: Signed WR Frank Rice to one-year contract.

PACKERS: Signed LB Adrian Hollingshed. Placed QB Dave Meyer on waivers.


BLACKHAWKS: Signed LW Igor Radulov, D Scott Balan and RW Yorick Treille.


UNITED (MLS): Waived F Abdul Thompson Conteh.



George Washington 17, UMBC 8

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.