For The Record

April 27, 2002



ATHLETICS: Activated OF Jermaine Dye. Optioned IF Mark Ellis to Triple-A Sacramento.

BLUE JAYS: Recalled P Mike Smith and P Justin Miller from Triple-A Syracuse. Placed P Bob File on 15-day DL with strained right oblique muscle.

GIANTS: Assigned P Kyle Gross to Single-A Hagerstown.

PADRES: Placed P Kevin Jarvis on 15-day DL, retroactive to April 18, with strain in right elbow. Placed OF Ron Gant on 15-day DL, retroactive to April 24, with fractured right pinky. Recalled P Ben Howard from Double-A Mobile and IF-OF Cesar Crespo from Triple-A Portland.

REDS: Activated P Lance Davis; optioned him to Double-A Chattanooga.

TIGERS: Placed 1B Dmitri Young on 15-day DL, retroactive to April 23, with hernia. Activated P Seth Greisinger. Recalled OF Craig Monroe from Triple-A Toledo. Sent OF Andres Torres to Toledo.


NCAA: Granted sixth year of eligibility to Washington WR Patrick Reddick, who missed '98 and '99 because of chronic knee problems.

CCBC-DUNDALK: Signed Maurice Jensen (North Caroline) to basketball letter of intent.

DUKE: Junior basketball C Carlos Boozer signed with an agent, meaning he will not return to Blue Devils.

FERRIS STATE: Named Bill Sall men's basketball coach.

HAMPTON: Men's basketball coach Steve Merfeld resigned to take same position at Evansville. Named Bobby Collins interim men's basketball coach.

IOWA STATE: Basketball F Shane Power announced that he is leaving program.

MOUNT ST. MARY'S: Following were named to all-NEC women's lacrosse second team: A Amy Harris, M Lara Steinbraker, A-M Erin Gargan, D Kelly Nangle (Glen Burnie).

ST. JOSEPH'S, IND.: Men's basketball coach Ken Carrillo resigned to become director of basketball operations at Oregon State.

SANTA CLARA: Signed women's soccer coach Jerry Smith, whose team is defending national champion, to five-year contract.

TENNESSEE TECH: Named Mike Sutton men's basketball coach; he had been an assistant at Kentucky.


BROWNS: Signed K Phil Dawson to four-year contract and RB Jamel White to one-year contract. Signed following undrafted free agents: WR Dimitrius Breedlove, WR Frisman Jackson, DB Eddie Canonico, DB Kalvin Pearson, DE Thomas Pittman, DE Michael Josiah, OL Konrad Dean, OL Qasim Mitchell and H-back Ben Miller.

BUCCANEERS: Signed restricted free-agent S Dexter Jackson.

COWBOYS: Re-signed QB Clint Stoerner, TE James Whalen, WR Darren Chiaverini, WR Ken-Yon Rambo and WR Reggie Swinton.

EAGLES: Re-signed FB Cecil Martin, WR Na Brown and S Rashard Cook to one-year contracts.

FALCONS: Signed free-agent WR Jeff Graham, who had been with Chargers. Waived WR Corey Brown. Signed following rookie free agents: QB Dusty Bonner, DE Curt Davis, DE Ryan Wingrove, WR R.J. English, S Corey Harris, K Brian Holmes, G Manly Kanoa, C Curt Lessman, CB Eric Sims, NT Jerry Togiai and RB Terrance Williams.

GIANTS: Signed CB Tony Badger, QB Ed Collins, S Ryan Clark, S Nate Coggins, LB Nick Colbert, OL Pat Crummey, T Michael Curry, CB Calvin Coleman, DT Rachman Crable, DE Sean Guthrie, DB Ronnie Hamilton, DT Matt Mitrione, G Dwayne Pierce, LB Brad Rice, T Vincent Sandoval, FB Charles Stackhouse, WR David Thompson, and C Terence Wagner. Released FB Anthony Green.

JETS: Announced restructuring of former Ravens QB Vinny Testaverde's contract for next five years. Waived P Daniel Pope. Signed WR Kory Bailey, WR Ataveus Cash, WR Tavon Mason, WR Brian Scott, LB Scott Bradley, LB Jamie Burrow, LB Joe Cooper, LB Jerimiah Janssen, LB Idris Price, CB Jay Brooks, C Lance Clelland, S Andrew Davison, S Bobby Jackson, RB Little John Flowers, RB Chad Kuhns, T Cory Hannen, T Matt Knutson, T Jay Kulaga, T Christopher Smith, QB Kyle McCann, and DT Brandon Moore. Signed RB Jonathan Reese.

LIONS: Signed WR Pierre Brown, LB Robert Chapman, CB Crance Clemons, DT Mike Collins, WR Eddie Drummond, P Aaron Edmonds, DE Chris Glantzis, S Abdual Howard, T Marcel Howard, DT Ken Jackson, DE Antwan Lake, T James McCall, WR Labrone Mitchell, RB James Mungro, K Dave Pavich, LB Ken Philpot, FB Kris Ryan and LB Josh Thornhill.

PACKERS: Signed LB Kenny Harney, LB Marcus Wilkins, G Kevin Barry, C Andy Eby, CB Seneca McMillan and WR Richard Lewis.

RAVENS: Signed LB Obi Arah (Howard), LB Jerry Cowan (Southern Utah), LB Gary Davis (New Mexico), LB J.R. Johnson (Syracuse); DT Nate Bolling (Wake Forest), DT Omari Jordan (Buffalo), DT Josh McKibben (Central Florida), DT Salem Simon (Northwestern), DE Robert Malone (Alabama State), TE Josh Bright (Delta State), DB Shawn Byrdsong (Mississippi State), DB Yohance Scott (Utah), DB Josh Robinson (Idaho State), DB Jason Olford (Louisiana Tech), S Will Demps (San Diego State), G Ken Farrar (Richmond), OT Newel Matavao (Northern State), OT Lawrence Smith (Tennessee State), RB Sean Gregory (Georgia Tech), WR D.J. Humphries (Presbyterian), WR Randy Hymes (Grambling), WR Lonny Mitchell (San Diego State), K J.R. Jenkins (Marshall), long snapper Mike Kraemer (Wisconsin-LaCrosse) and long snapper Brian Smith (Hawaii).


Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.