Moves Baseball ATHLETICS: Released P Juan Ramos. BLUE...


April 21, 2002



ATHLETICS: Released P Juan Ramos.

BLUE JAYS: Recalled P Scott Cassidy from Triple-A Syracuse. Optioned P Justin Miller to Syracuse. Designated OF Brian Lesher for assignment. Activated P Chris Carpenter.

DODGERS: Placed P Kevin Brown on 15-day DL with torn scar tissue and residual swelling in surgically repaired elbow. Recalled P Guillermo Mota from Triple-A Las Vegas.

GIANTS: Placed P Jason Christiansen on 15-day DL with tendinitis in left elbow. Recalled P Chad Zerbe from Triple-A Fresno.

PADRES: Triple-A Portland released former Orioles OF Pete Incaviglia.

RANGERS: Recalled P Francisco Cordero from Triple-A Oklahoma.

RED SOX: Activated P John Burkett from 15-day DL. Optioned IF Lou Merloni to Triple-A Pawtucket.

TIGERS: Placed 3B Dean Palmer on 15-day DL, retroactive to April 14, with right shoulder tendinitis. Recalled P Nate Cornejo from Triple-A Toledo.


COLORADO STATE: Suspended redshirt freshman LB Frostee Jackson after his arrest on sexual assault charges.

KANSAS STATE: Announced that women's basketball coach Deb Patterson has agreed to multi-year contract extension through 2004-05.

NAVY: Named LB Lane Jackson winner of Vice Admiral William P. Mack Award as most improved player during spring football drills.

UTAH VALLEY STATE: Named Dick Hunsaker men's basketball coach.


BUCCANEERS: Re-signed FB Mike Alsott to $8 million, four-year contract.

CHARGERS: Agreed to terms with LB Donnie Edwards.

COLTS: Signed DT James Cannida to two-year contract.

FALCONS: Claimed P Matt Allen off waivers from Seahawks.

GIANTS: Signed CB Davis Mitchell, WR Derek Dorris and P Jason Van Dyke.

RAMS: Matched Broncos' five-year, $5.5 million offer sheet for FB James Hodgins.

High school

MOUNT ST. JOSEPH: Following athletes were inducted into school's Hall of Fame: Greg Vaughan (1971) for swimming, cross country and track; David Sunderland (`93) and Kenny Hunter ('93) for football and wrestling; Karl Nieberlein ('89) for football and basketball; John Amer ('44) for baseball and soccer; Kevin Beach ('89) for lacrosse; Michael Duffy ('81) for golf ; Guy Zanti ('78) for wrestling; and coaches Hal Sparks and Ted Rukowicz ('63).


Baseball Salisbury 5, York 4 Towson 14, James Madison 13 Haverford 7, W. Maryland 4

Softball Anne Arundel C.C. 13-2, Cecil C.C. 4-1 UMBC 8-5, Central Connecticut 3-5 Capital Athletic Conference Tournament Salsibury 4, York 1 Salisbury 7, Mary Washington 0



Washington College 7, Dickinson 0


Washington College 9, Dickinson 0



ACC Champioship Day 2 1. Duke, 568; 2. Wake Forest, 595; 3. North Carolina State, 599; 4. Florida State, 605; 5. North Carolina, 615; 6. Maryland, 622.

Pro football

NFL draft

No. 1 overall selections

2002--David Carr, Houston, QB, Fresno State.

2001--Michael Vick, Atlanta, QB, Virginia Tech.

2000--Courtney Brown, Cleve., DE, Penn State.

1999--Tim Couch, Cleveland, QB, Kentucky.

1998--Peyton Manning, Ind., QB, Tennessee.

1997--Orlando Pace, St. Louis, T, Ohio State.

1996--Keyshawn Johnson, N.Y. Jets, WR, USC

1995--Ki-Jana Carter, Cinc., RB, Penn State.

1994--Dan Wilkinson, Cincinnati, DE, Ohio State.

1993--Drew Bledsoe, N. Eng., QB, Wash. State.

1992--Steve Emtman, Ind., DE, Washington.

1991--Russell Maryland, Dallas, DL, Miami.

1990--Jeff George, Indianapolis, QB, Illinois.

1989--Troy Aikman, Dallas, QB, UCLA.

1988--Aundray Bruce, Atlanta, LB, Auburn.

1987--Vinny Testaverde, Tampa Bay, QB, Miami.

1986--Bo Jackson, Tampa Bay, RB, Auburn.

1985--Bruce Smith, Buffalo, DT, Virginia Tech.

1984--Irving Fryar, New England, WR, Nebraska.

1983--John Elway, Baltimore, QB, Stanford.

1982--Kenneth Sims, New England, DT, Texas.

1981--George Rogers, N. Orleans, RB, S. Carolina.

1980--Billy Sims, Detroit, RB, Oklahoma.

1979--Tom Cousineau, Buffalo, LB, Ohio State.

1978--Earl Campbell, Houston, RB, Texas.

1977--Ricky Bell, Tampa Bay, RB, USC.

1976--Lee Roy Selmon, T. Bay, DE, Oklahoma.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.