At St. Philip Neri parish, honoring those who served


April 07, 2002|By Rosalie Falter | Rosalie Falter,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

THE REV. Carl Cummings had just been assigned associate pastor at St. Philip Neri parish in August when he thought of a way to honor men and women who had served their country.

Noticing that Veterans Day was to fall on a Sunday, he invited veterans to display photographs of themselves in uniform in the church lobby Nov. 11.

Also, anyone who wanted to fly the flag they had received at retirement from active duty, or at the funeral of a veteran, could do so from the St. Philip Neri flagpole for one week.

The project was a way to promote patriotism. Then, in September, came the terrorist attacks in New York and at the Pentagon. Patriotism has been even more evident since then, said Cummings, who spent 17 years as a Navy chaplain and 35 years in the Naval Reserve.

Each week, Joseph Sufczynski, maintenance supervisor at St. Philip's, changes the flag with the help of his 19-year-old grandson, Robert Cooper.

Although Cummings has been reassigned to another parish and will be leaving St. Philip's on May 1, the program will continue. "I'm a veteran myself and I will continue to change the flags as long as they keep coming in," said Sufczynski, who served in the Navy from 1951-55.

The American flag has been flown at St. Philip Neri for the following veterans: Arthur J. Fetchko, Navy; David M. Higdon Jr., Army; Jerome J. Hentz, Air Force; James J. Fetcho, Navy; John F. Boschert, Navy; Frank J. Gurny, Army; Melvin Link, Army; Roberta "Bobbie" Williams, Army; Louis P. Shutty, Army; George Petro; Milton J. Dworkowski, Navy.

Also, Carl F. Cummings, Naval Reserve; Philip E. Kennedy, Army; Richard C. Kuschner, Army; Steven Szekely, Army-Air Force; Frank Adamski, Navy; James J. Stominski, Navy; Gordon E. Wright Jr., Navy and Army; Maurice Walter, Navy; Robert J. Feeley Sr., Navy.

Writing, art contests

The Woman's Club of Linthicum Heights will honor the winners of the writing and art contests that it sponsors for students at its monthly meeting Tuesday. The meeting will start at 9:30 a.m. at the clubhouse, 110 N. Hammonds Ferry Road. Parents and teachers are invited.

The awards ceremony will be followed by a business meeting open to members only. Members who have not voted for club officers are asked to bring their ballots and drop them in the ballot box before 11 a.m. Election results will be announced at the meeting, which will be followed by a potluck luncheon.

The Community Health and Volunteer Services Committee is seeking donations of nearly new clothing and accessories for Chesapeake Treasures. Proceeds from the shop benefits Hospice of the Chesapeake.

Information on donating items: the committee's co-chairs, Fran Purper, 410-859-5284, or Lynne Marie McGowan, 410-859-5954.

Friendship Quilters

Friendship Quilters will meet at 7 p.m. Thursday at St. John Lutheran Church, 300 W. Maple in Linthicum. The speaker will be Linda Hall of Douglassville, Pa., an award-winning quilter, national exhibitor and educator. She will present a trunk show of her quilts.

Quilters of all levels are welcome. Refreshments will be served.

Information: Allison Bachmann, 410-437-6283.

Linthicum-Shipley group

The Linthicum-Shipley Improvement Association will hold its monthly general membership meeting at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday in the Lindale Middle School media center. The school is at 101 School Lane, at Camp Meade Road.

Ned Carey will talk about the Baltimore-Washington International Airport enhancement program, which makes money available to communities affected by the airport.

David Goldbloom of Erwin Greenberg Commercial Corp. will present plans for the Burwood Plaza renovation.

Information: Rik Forgo, 410-859-8474.

First Sunday program

St. Christopher's Episcopal Church, 116 Marydell Road, is conducting its First Sunday program at 1:30 p.m. today.

Information: 410-859-5633.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.