Pearce's 8 goals lift Hopkins, 23-11

Sophomore nets 10 points

Towson cruises, 13-5

College Lacrosse

State women

March 18, 2002|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

Sophomore midfielder Heidi Pearce set a Division I school record with eight goals in No. 18 Johns Hopkins' 23-11 victory over visiting Ohio University in a women's lacrosse game yesterday at Homewood Field.

Pearce also had two assists for 10 points, tying the Blue Jays' Division I record for points in a game, set by Danielle Maschuci, who had 10 points in a 16-7 win over St. Joseph's on April 28, 1999.

The Blue Jays also set Division I team records by scoring 23 goals and taking 56 shots.

Seniors Jamie Larrimore and Erin Wellner each recorded six points, and junior Meghan Burnett added four points, as the Blue Jays (4-3, 2-1 American Lacrosse Conference) jumped out to a 5-0 lead on the Bobcats (3-2, 0-1) in the game's first nine minutes.

Kristen Gombeski scored two of her team-high three goals and Lindsey Hart assisted on two others to help Ohio cut the Hopkins lead to 5-4.

Five different Blue Jays then scored to give Hopkins a 10-4 advantage.

Towson 13, Davidson 5: Sophomore midfielder Caitlin Marshall (Centennial) had two goals and two assists to lead the host Tigers (2-3) over the Wildcats (5-3) at Minnegan Stadium.

It was the second consecutive home victory for the Tigers, who scored seven unanswered goals in the first 20 minutes on their way to a 10-1 halftime lead.

Kristyn Krastel and Stephanie Howell scored three goals each for Towson, and Amy Middleton and Marshall had two each.

Sophomore Jessica O'Connell made nine saves for the Tigers.

Christin Raimondo and Sarah Otto scored two goals each to lead Davidson.

College of Notre Dame 18, Wells 1: Angela Ruocco scored four goals, Teresa Weathers had three and Erin Sturgis had two goals and two assists as the host Gators routed the Express.

Ten Gators scored.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.