Wiley to be chief among honorees at police gala

He and his K-9 partner share Officer of the Year

March 15, 2002|BY A SUN STAFF WRITER

Pfc. Timothy C. Wiley will be recognized as Howard County Police Officer of the Year at Community Awards Night, sponsored by the Howard County Chamber of Commerce, on April 24. Pfc. Wiley and his K-9 partner, Gasto, will share the award. They will also be honored with a Gold Medal Award for bravery.

A Silver Medal Award will be presented to Sgt. Page Christis, Pfc. Daniel W. Besseck and Officer John L. Iannone. A Bronze Medal Award will go to Pfc. Michael A. Thorn Sr. Herb Michael will be recognized as Auxiliary Officer of the Year. Tfc. David T. Dryer of the Waterloo Barracks of the Maryland State Police will be recognized as Trooper of the Year.

Larry Gamber of the 911 service, now a part of the county Police Department, will be named Telecommunicator of the Year. Senior Dispatcher Deborah Saunders and Master Dispatcher Kim Grap will receive Meritorious Service Awards. The Howard County state's attorney's office will be represented by Kim Oldham, who has been selected as Prosecutor of the Year. Correctional Officer Charles Mick will receive the award as the Department of Corrections' Employee of the Year.

Deputy Edward Buckman of the Sheriff's Office is being honored as Deputy of the Year. Deputy Frank Smith will receive a Gold Medal Award and Deputy Robert Sybert a Silver Medal Award.

Molly Vincent of Howard County government will be recognized as Employee of the Year. Howard County educators also will be honored. The ceremony will be held at 6 p.m. at Turf Valley Resort & Conference Center in Ellicott City.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.