89 to be rewarded for athletic, academic feats

5 will receive scholarships

Friedgen among honorees


March 06, 2002|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

Eighty-nine area football players will be honored tonight at the 39th annual Scholar Athlete Awards dinner at Martin's West in Woodlawn.

Five regional scholarship winners will be selected, with one of those five being chosen as the grand-prize winner. A total of $10,000 will be awarded to the winners.

The event, which will start at 6 p.m., is sponsored by the Greater Baltimore Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame. National college Coach of the Year Ralph Friedgen of Maryland also will be honored.

Special achievement awards will be presented to Maryland Class 3A titlist Urbana High School, NCAA Division III Centennial Conference champion Western Maryland College and Atlantic Coast Conference winner Maryland.

Hereford High School will receive the A. Paul Menton Award. Pop Warner national championship teams, the midget division (11-14) Northwood Rams and the junior-midget (10-12) Lakeland Vikings will be recognized, too.

The scholar-athlete nominees:

Aberdeen, Ronald Ringgold; Annapolis, Sung Yang; Archbishop Curley, Mark Koeing; Archbishop Spalding, Marcin Orlowski; Arundel, Christopher Greco; Atholton, Branson Boring; Bel Air, Gregory Brown; Boys' Latin, Brian Read; Broadneck, Ryan McGovern; Brunswick, Michael Aaron; C. Milton Wright, Weston Seipp; Calvert Hall, Eric Frazier; Cardinal Gibbons, Brad Hendricks; Carver-Vo-Tech, Mario McIntosh; Catoctin, Samuel Kulceski; Catonsville, Christopher Wilson; Centennial, Gregory Grosskopf; Chesapeake-AA, Mark Fetty; Chesapeake-BC, Kevin Trocki; City, Nathaniel Clayton; Dulaney, Konstantinos Kosmakos; Dunbar, Rafael McFadden; Dundalk, G.Thomas Raybon III; Eastern Tech, Timothy Slowick; Edgewood, Jason Reininger; Edmondson, David Alcindor; Fallston, John Heiser; Forest Park, Timothy Tuck; Francis Scott Key, Joseph Morningstar, Jr.; Frederick, Robert Bartlett; Friends, Jordan Alger; Gilman, Mark McTamney; Glen Burnie, Matthew Easter; Glenelg, Robert LaHayne; Thomas Johnson, Nicholas Reese; Hammond, Tye Murphy; Hereford, Nicholas Sebastian; Howard, Scott McCabe; John Carroll, Terence Callahan Jr.; Joppatowne, Lewis Lema; Kenwood, James Hardwick; Lansdowne, Jason McLaughlin; Liberty, Brendan Pluim; Linganore, Nathan Pototschnik; Loch Raven, Darren Greene; Long Reach, Amit Kumar; Loyola, David Tamberrino; McDonogh, Aaron Friedman; Meade, Antwan Smith; Mergenthaler, Kenneth Brown, Jr.; Middletown, Scott Harshman; Milford Mill, Quinten White; Mount Hebron, Robert MacHeel; Mount St. Joseph, Patrick Gilbert; North Carroll, Arthur Spangenthal; North County, Joshua Papsan; North Harford, Matthew Runyon; Northeast, Joseph Brockmeyer IV; Northern, Dominic Williamson; Northwestern, Kelly Taylor; Oakland Mills, Andrew Croner; Old Mill, Brad Bergersen; Overlea, Woodrow Boyd III; Owings Mills, Paul Day; Parkville, David Lyons; Patapsco, Joseph Brzozowski Jr.; Patterson, Todd Adkins; Perry Hall, Robert Bearman; Pikesville, Lee Block; Poly, Theodore Savage; Randallstown, Randy Vince; River Hill, Matthew Hostetler; St. Mary's, Geoffrey Christhilf; St. Paul's, Roderick Mason Jr.; Severn, Bradley Holbrook; Severna Park, John Miller; South Carroll, Johnathan Misamore; South River, Brayden Wiedeman; Southern-AA, Bryant Hall; Southwestern, Daron Benjamin, Sparrows Point, Hansen Lukman; Towson, Andrew Posil; Urbana, Bradley Anderson; Walbrook, Lewis Morris; Walkersville, Gordon Dodd; Western Tech, Rajiv Chakravarthy; Westminster, Carl Puleo III; Wilde Lake, Charles Berlin IV; Woodlawn, Jesse Hayes.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.