Seven other Olympic instances of duplicate or delayed medals

February 16, 2002

The gold medal awarded to the Canadian figure skating pair of Jamie Sale and David Pelletier marked the eighth time in Olympics history that duplicate medals were awarded or medals were given late.

Duplicate medals have been awarded three times:

1924 - Anders Haugen, a U.S. ski jumper, placed fourth at the first Winter Games. Almost 50 years later, a historian determined that Haugen's distance had been miscalculated. He was awarded a bronze medal when he was 83.

1984 - Third place in the 100-meter hurdles was declared a dead heat between American Kim Turner and France's Michele Chardonnet, but officials then decided that Turner beat Chardonnet. After the IOC again reviewed tapes, the French sprinter received a bronze medal 3 1/2 months after the Games.

1992 - After the Games, the IOC awarded a gold in synchronized swimming to Canada's Sylvie Frechette because of a judging error. A judge had meant to give Frechette a 9.7, but accidentally typed 8.7. American Kristen Babb-Sprague kept her gold.

Olympic medals that were awarded late:

1912 - American Jim Thorpe was stripped of his decathlon and pentathlon golds a year after the Olympics because he had played professional baseball. The medals were returned to his family in 1983.

1952 - Sweden's Ingemar Johansson was disqualified "for not fighting his best" in the final super heavyweight bout. Johansson got his silver medal 29 years later.

1964 - Pairs skaters Marika Kilius and Hans-Jurgen Baumler of Germany returned their silver medals two years after the Innsbruck Games because of allegations that they signed professional contracts before the start. The IOC returned their medals in 1987.

1968 - Featherweight Albert Robertson of the United States was disqualified from the title bout at Mexico City for a low blow. The IOC gave him the silver medal after the Games.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.