Warehime named AD at N. Carroll

Key locks down on threes

Brewer to attend Xavier


High Schools

February 08, 2002|By Rich Scherr | Rich Scherr,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

North Carroll didn't have to look far to find its new athletic director.

On Tuesday, the school named Troy Warehime, a 1983 North Carroll graduate and 14-year coach at the Hampstead school, to succeed Bill Rumbaugh, who is leaving to become the inaugural AD at Winters Mill.

"I'm very lucky that Bill is going to be here for the rest of the school year, so that I can learn from him," said Warehime, who coaches freshman basketball and JV baseball.

Warehime, 36, had applied for the job five years ago, when Rumbaugh was hired. As a senior in high school, he had worked as an aide under former AD Ed Powelson.

"I kind of got to like the idea of becoming a phys-ed teacher, a coach and an athletic director," Warehime said. "It started back then as somewhat of a pipe dream. Now, here we are about 20 years later, and it finally all seems to be working out for me."

Key ready for threes

One month after allowing 12 three-pointers in a 91-79 loss to Brunswick, host Francis Scott Key came better prepared for Tuesday's Monocacy Valley Athletic League rematch.

Staying in a zone defense that kept pressure on the Railroaders' perimeter shooters, Key survived 39 three-point attempts in a 71-68 win.

"Last time, we weren't prepared for it, but we switched up defenses and had three people up top instead of two," said Eagles guard Chuck Black.

Although Brunswick again nailed 12 threes, this time they needed nearly twice as many attempts.

"We knew what damage they could do," said Key coach Terry Brant. "I thought our kids did a nice job of being patient and disciplined."

The Eagles are 10-8 heading into tonight's game at Middletown.

Brewer to Xavier

Westminster catcher Sean Brewer has announced that he will attend Xavier University in the fall.

As a junior last season, Brewer batted .368 with three doubles and a home run, also recording a 4.25 ERA as a pitcher. His summer team, the Carroll County Rangers, has won three straight state championships.

"We feel that Sean is an outstanding catcher who will add to our depth at that position," said Musketeers coach John Morrey.

Glenelg wins without Selmer

Surreal. That's the best description of what happened at Tuesday's Class 2A-1A Central Region track and field championships at the Prince George's Sports and Learning Complex in Landover, where Glenelg defeated Atholton for the girls title, 110-92.

Carrie Selmer of Glenelg and Lindsay Grigoriev of Atholton, the top point scorers for their respective teams, both missed the state qualifier, and neither girl can compete in her individual events at the state championships on Feb. 18.

Upon learning they had won the regional title, the Glenelg girls called Selmer, a senior team captain, to relay the news.

"It's ridiculous how happy I was when I heard we won," said Selmer, who missed the meet because of food poisoning. (Grigoriev was out with a pulled right hamstring.)

Glenelg qualified 11 girls for states.

Sabrina Putro finished first in the shot put and third in the high jump. Elaina Christmas won the 55-meter hurdles. Mallory Heinke won the 3,200. Katie Pencek won the 1,600 and was second in the 3,200. Brandy McReynolds finished second in the pole vault and third in the 55. Mary Rollyson finished second in the 800 and third in the 500. Robin Lancaster finished second in the high jump.

Atholton qualified 13 girls for states: pole-vaulters Tessa Laidig and Stacy Downs; Michelle Freda and Kristen Freda in both the 1,600 and 3,200; 800 runners Stacy Downs (first) and Meghan Bolton (third); 55 hurdler and 500 runner Aisha Raheem, who was second in both events; and high jumper Stephanie Person. Atholton also qualified for the 1,600 and 3,200 relays.

Sun staff writer Rick Belz contributed to this article

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.