A year later

Steelers 27, Ravens 10

January 21, 2002

A year later

How Super Bowl winners fared in their next season:

1967-Green Bay repeated and beat Oakland, 33-14, in Super Bowl.

1968-Green Bay finished third in NFL Central with a 6-7-1 record.

1969-New York Jets lost to Kansas City, 13-6, in AFL divisional game.

1970-Kansas City finished second in the AFC West Division with a 7-5-2 record.

1971-Baltimore lost to Miami, 21-0, in AFC championship game.

1972-Dallas lost to Washington, 26-3, in NFC championship game.

1973-Miami repeated and beat Minnesota, 24-7, in Super Bowl.

1974-Miami lost to Oakland, 28-26, in AFC divisional game.

1975-Pittsburgh repeated and beat Dallas, 21-17, in Super Bowl.

1976-Pittsburgh lost to Oakland, 24-7, in AFC championship game.

1977-Oakland lost to Denver, 20-17, in AFC championship game.

1978-Dallas lost to Pittsburgh, 35-31, in Super Bowl.

1979-Pittsburgh repeated and beat the Los Angeles Rams, 31-19, in Super Bowl.

1980-Pittsburgh finished third in the AFC Central with a 9-7 record.

1981-Oakland finished fourth in the AFC West with a 7-9 record.

1982-San Francisco finished 11th in NFC with a 3-6 record.

1983-Washington lost to the Los Angeles Raiders, 38-9, in Super Bowl.

1984-Los Angeles Raiders lost to Seattle, 13-7, in AFC wild-card game.

1985-San Francisco lost to New York Giants, 17-3, in NFC wild-card game.

1986-Chicago lost to Washington, 27-13, in NFC divisional game.

1987-New York Giants finished last in NFC East with a 6-9 record.

1988-Washington finished third in NFC East with a 7-9 record.

1989-San Francisco repeated and beat Denver, 55-10, in Super Bowl.

1990-San Francisco lost to New York Giants, 15-13, in NFC championship game.

1991-N.Y. Giants finished fourth in NFC East with an 8-8 record.

1992-Washington lost to San Francisco, 20-13, in NFC divisional game.

1993-Dallas repeated and beat Buffalo, 30-13, in Super Bowl.

1994-Dallas lost to San Francisco, 38-28, in NFC championship game.

1995-San Francisco lost to Green Bay, 27-17, in NFC divisional game.

1996-Dallas lost to Carolina, 26-17, in NFC divisional game.

1997-Green Bay lost to Denver, 31-24, in Super Bowl.

1998-Denver repeated and beat Atlanta, 34-19, in Super Bowl.

1999-Denver finished last in the AFC West with a 6-10 record.

2000-St. Louis lost to New Orleans, 31-28, in NFC wild-card game.

2001-Ravens lost to Pittsburgh, 27-10, in AFC divisional game.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.