Annapolis' Haberland among 5 nominated for top honor of '01

Navy coach in running for Yachtswoman of Year


January 15, 2002|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

Naval Academy sailing coach Nancy Haberland is one of five women nominated for the 2001 Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year.

Haberland, of Annapolis, took first place in the 59-boat J/22 East Coast champion last summer. She also finished third in the J/22 Mid-Atlantic Championships and fourth in the Rolex International Women's Keelboat Championship. As a crew member, she had a first-place finish in the Yngling Acors-Thompson and seconds in the U.S. Santa Maria Cup and the Yngling World Championship.

The award, thought by many to be the highest individual honor in national racing, was established in 1961 by U.S. Sailing. The nominees were selected by the organization's members, and the winners will be selected by sailing journalists. The winners will be honored at the New York Yacht Club on Feb. 15.

The other nominees: Tasar International and U.S. National Champion Carol Buchan of Medina, Wash.; Yngling CORK Champion Carol Cronin of Jamestown, R.I.; Yngling North American champion Courtenay Dey of Westerly, R.I.; and Rolex International Women's Keelboat Champion Cory Sertl of Rochester, N.Y.

Nominees for the 2001 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year: International 14 World Champion Zach Berkowitz of San Francisco; Laser Master World Champion Henry De Wolf of Palm City, Fla.; J/22 and Flying Scot North American Champion Greg Fisher of Columbus, Ohio; world speed sailing record-holder Steve Fossett of Chicago; 49er World Champions Jonathan McKee and Charlie McKee of Seattle; and Star North American Champion George Szabo of San Diego.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.