Baseball HALL OF FAME: Announced that induction...


January 05, 2002


HALL OF FAME: Announced that induction ceremony will be July 28.

ANGELS: Announced resignation of president Tony Tavares.

BREWERS: Claimed P George Perez off waivers from Blue Jays.

CARDINALS: Agreed to $27 million, three-year contract with P Matt Morris.

INDIANS: Signed P Matthew Haynes.

ROCKIES: Reached preliminary agreement on $550,000, one-year contract with free-agent C Tony Eusebio, who had been with Astros.

TWINS: Named Ron Gardenhire manager.

YANKEES: Claimed P Brett Jodie off waivers from Padres. Designated P Ryan Bradley for assignment.


CAVALIERS: Activated G Jeff Trepagnier. Placed G Trajan Langdon on injured list with sprained right ankle.

LAKERS: Activated C Shaquille O'Neal. Placed C Jelnai McCoy on injured list with bone bruise in right foot.

MAGIC: Activated F-C Steven Hunter. Placed G Jeryl Sasser on injured list with right knee patella tendinitits.

RAPTORS: Placed F Morris Peterson on injured list with broken right index finger. Activated C Mamadou N'diaye from injured list.

SUPERSONICS: Activated C Jerome James from injured list.

MYSTICS (WNBA): Announced resignation of coach Tom Maher and GM Melissa McFerrin.


ARKANSAS STATE: Named David Gunn running backs coach.

BAYLOR: Named Dave Baldwin offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach.

CHEYNEY: Named Lee Brown football coach.

COPPIN STATE: Announced that senior F Donnell Thomas and sophomore F LeMar Ruffin have been dismissed from basketball team for violating team rules.

FLORIDA: Announced resignation of football coach Steve Spurrier.

GEORGIA TECH: Named Joe D'Allesandris, Tommie Robinson and David Wilson assistant football coaches.

KENTUCKY: Announced that junior DE Dennis Johnson will forgo senior year to enter NFL draft.

LENOIR-RHYNE: Named Wayne W. Hicks football coach.

MERCYHURST: Named Marty Schaetzle football coach.

NAVY: Named Ivin Jasper quarterbacks and fullbacks coach.

SAINT MARY, KAN.: Named Scott Frear football coach.

SAM HOUSTON: Announced resignation of football defensive coordinator Mike Lucas.

WESTERN CAROLINA: Named Kent Briggs football coach.

WISCONSIN-GREEN BAY: Announced that former Wisconsin men's basketball F Julian Swartz has enrolled and will play next season.


BILLS: Placed OL Jerry Ostroski (sore knee) and DT Shawn Price (knee surgery) on IR. Signed LB Jimmy Robinson from practice squad.

BROWNS: Exercised option on contract of QB Tim Couch.

CHIEFS: Placed TE Jason Dunn on IR. Signed G Victor Allotey from practice squad.

VIKINGS: Reached buyout agreement with coach Dennis Green. Named Mike Tice (Maryland) interim coach.


COYOTES: Traded D David Cullen to Wild for C Sebastien Bordeleau. Recalled C Wyatt Smith from AHL

Springfield. KINGS: Placed LW Ken Belanger on injured list, retroactive to Thursday, with broken thumb.

MIGHTY DUCKS: Announced resignation of chairman Tony Tavares.

PENGUINS: Claimed C Randy Robitaille off waivers from Kings.

STARS: Placed D Brad Lukowich on IR, retroactive to Thursday, with fractured finger. Golf


Mercedes Championship At Kapalua, Hawaii Second round, par 73

David Toms 69-66-135

Kenny Perry 68-67-135

Scott Verplank 67-69-136

Mike Weir 63-74-137

Mark Calcavecchia 72-66-138

David Duval 67-71-138

Jim Furyk 67-72-139

Chris DiMarco 67-72-139

Cameron Beckman 67-73-140

Frank Lickliter II 66-74-140

Retief Goosen 69-71-140

Joel Edwards 69-71-140

Bob Estes 70-70-140

Tom Pernice, Jr. 70-70-140

Davis Love III 69-72-141

John Cook 72-69-141

Steve Stricker 71-70-141

Robert Damron 69-73-142, Tiger Woods 68-74-142

Brad Faxon 71-71-142

Justin Leonard 70-72-142

Sergio Garcia 73-69-142

Scott McCarron 71-72-143

Joe Durant 73-73-146

Robert Allenby 74-72-146

Shigeki Maruyama 72-75-147

Scott Hoch 72-75-147

Hal Sutton 75-73-148

Jesper Parnevik 74-75-149

Jeff Sluman 74-76-150

David Gossett 74-78-152

Garrett Willis 77-80-157

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.