Maryland places 7 on ACC first team

Perry, Henderson lead ACC champs' recognition

November 28, 2001|By Christian Ewell | Christian Ewell,SUN STAFF

Seven players from league champion Maryland earned first-team All-Atlantic Coast Conference football honors yesterday.

Sophomore tailback Bruce Perry was among three offensive and four defensive players honored, as the Terps reaped more rewards after winning their first ACC championship since 1985.

Perry averaged a league-best 112.9 yards and had a 276-yard outing against Wake Forest. Yesterday, he also was named a finalist for the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation's top running back.

He received 136 votes from the Atlantic Coast Sports Writers Association, trailing only North Carolina defensive end Julius Peppers, the league's only unanimous first-team selection.

Two of the linemen who created running room for Perry, senior Melvin Fowler and junior Todd Wike, also made the first team.

On the defensive end, junior inside linebacker E.J. Henderson earned first-team honors, leading the league in tackles (147) and tackles for loss (27). The Butkus Award finalist will also be a strong candidate for the ACC's Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year honors, which will be announced tomorrow.

Henderson (Aberdeen) was one of three former local players on Maryland who made the first team.

Strong safety Tony Jackson (Wilde Lake) had 83 tackles and a league-best six interceptions, and Brooks Barnard (Broadneck) averaged 44.5 yards per punt.

Cornerback Tony Okanlawon, who was the team's best cover guy before missing the last three games with an unspecified illness, also made the team.

Quarterback Shaun Hill was edged by Clemson's Woodrow Dantzler for first-team honors.


Offense: QB, Woodrow Dantzler, Sr., Clemson; RB, Bruce Perry, So., Maryland; RB, Joe Burns, Jr., Georgia Tech; WR, Billy McMullen, Jr., Virginia; WR, Kelly Campbell, Sr., Georgia Tech; TE, Mike Hart, Sr., Duke; T, Brett Williams, Jr., Florida St.; T, Nat Dorsey, Fr., Georgia Tech; G, Todd Wike, Jr., Maryland; G, Michael Collins, Sr., Wake Forest; C, Melvin Fowler, Sr., Maryland; PK, Luke Manget, Jr., Georgia Tech Defense: DL, Julius Peppers, Jr., North Carolina; DL, Greg Gathers, Jr., Georgia Tech; DL, Ryan Sims, Sr., North Carolina; DL, Darnell Dockett, So., Florida St.; LB, E.J. Henderson, Jr., Maryland; LB, Levar Fisher, Sr., N.C. State; LB, Bradley Jennings, Sr., Florida St.; DB, Chris Hope, Sr., Florida St.; DB, Terrence Holt, Jr., N.C. State; DB, Tony Jackson, Sr., Maryland; DB, Tony Okanlawon, Sr., Maryland; SP, Kelley Rhino, Jr., Georgia Tech; P, Brooks Barnard, Jr., Maryland SECOND TEAM Offense Maryland only: QB, Shaun Hill, Sr.; WR, Guilian Gary, Sr.; T, Matt Crawford, Jr.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.