Baltimore Choral Arts Society


November 25, 2001|By Sloane Brown

For some Baltimore art lovers, it's like being first in line at the mall when stores open the day after Thanksgiving. The line had already formed to the right by 6 p.m., when the doors opened to the Conference Center at Sheppard Pratt for the opening night reception of ArtWeek 2001, Baltimore Choral Arts Society's benefit art sale and exhibit. That meant first crack at buying pieces by more than 30 artists. Within minutes "Sold" stickers started popping up on various paintings, photographs and sculptures. Even for those without checkbooks in hand, this was the chance to view a wide variety of artwork and chat with many of the artists.

Among those in the artsy crowd of 280: Dayle Jones, event chair; Margaret Jarosinski, Lisa Kissinger and Rachel Sakaduski, event commitee members; Jean E. Trout, exhibit curator; Arnold Paskoff, Baltimore Choral Arts Society board president; Ronnie Reno, Oz Bengur, Jay Brooks, Tom Brown, Michael Curley, Lori Gillespie, George Good, Bill Nesbitt and Peter Savage, board members; Beth Miller, Choral Arts executive director; Tom Hall, Choral Arts music director; Mark Barry, Susanne Carmack, Kini Collins, Phil Cooper, Deborah English, Larry Horowitz, Paula Reynolds, John Brandon Sills, Jeremiah Stermer and George Wills, artists; Joel Pierson, Melville Thomas Architects architect; Dr. Alan Sweatmen, Upper Chesapeake Medical Center critical care physician; Jim Kennedy, T. Rowe Price equities head; Gerrit Vreeland, Deutsche Banc Alex. Brown managing director; Ralph Kuncl, Johns Hopkins University vice provost; Allison Dickinson, Paper Rock Scissors owner; Glenn Carey, SunTrust Bank vice president; John Bond, Columbia Bank president / CEO; Rhea Feikin, MPT personality; and Phil Clough, ABS Capital venture partner.

The party raised $21,000 for the Baltimore Choral Arts Society.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.