Maryland Art Place


November 25, 2001|By Sloane Brown

Is it possible to have too much fun? Nah. But, you can come close, as about 400 folks did at "Live! from Baltimore, It's Saturday Night!" -- Maryland Art Place's benefit exhibition and auction, and primo party. The night began at the nightclub Howl at the Moon, with cocktails and hors d'oeuvres enlivened by the club's "dueling pianos." Then came the live auction, after which guests filed downstairs and next door to Maryland Art Place, where a buffet dinner waited, along with rooms full of work by Maryland artists up for grabs in a silent auction. The fun ramped up further with a DJ and dancing till 1 a.m.

Among the fun seekers assembled: Suzi Cordish, Maryland Art Place board chair; Karen Bokram, MAP board president; Elliott Cowan, Brook Amiot, Sam Polakoff, Barbara Armstrong, Chuck Nabit, David Nevins and Allison Parker, MAP board members; Martha Macks-Kahn and Mary Ann Mears, MAP board emeriti; Jack Rasmussen, MAP executive director; David Oros, Aether Systems CEO; Mary McNally, Deutsche Banc Alex. Brown institutional sales agent; Costas Grimaldis, Grimaldis Gallery director; Dina Klicos, Johns Hopkins Medicine Brady Urological Institute associate development director; Bob Groth, Flying Fruit Fantasy founder; Mike Lewin, Legg Mason senior managing director; Bob Embry, Abell Foundation president; Carroll Bodie, Procter & Gamble Cosmetics vice president / general counsel; Linda Robinson, Baltimore interior designer; Carole Sibel and Fredye Gross, community volunteers; Tim McGuire, McGuire Inc. president; Christian Rubeck, Struever Bros. project manager; Jeffrey Kent, Baltimore artist; John Boddiford, Lee Electrical Inc. vice president; Ned Rosenberg, Rosemore Inc. CEO; John Braun, Transcom Ltd. owner; and Jim Abromitis, Trigen president.

The shindig raised more than $110,000 for Maryland Art Place.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.