Hereford picks up E. Tech's fumble

Opportunistic No. 1 Bulls edge way to semis, 10-7

Class 2A football

High schools

November 17, 2001|By Adam Reisinger | Adam Reisinger,SUN STAFF

The missed opportunities and scoreless minutes piled up quickly, but with nine minutes left in the game, top-ranked Hereford took advantage of a turnover and turned it into a 10-7 victory over Eastern Tech last night in the first round of the Class 2A football playoffs.

With the score tied at 7, Eastern Tech's Dietrich Wright fumbled, giving the Bulls the ball at the Mavericks' 18-yard line. Four plays later, sophomore John Dinkins connected on a 31-yard field goal to give the Bulls the decisive points.

"I basically took it the same as extra points; head down, let it rip," Dinkins said. "I have to keep the routine. If I do anything different, I might as well screw up."

The game was largely dominated by defense, with each team shutting down the other's prolific running game.

"I expected it to be a defensive struggle," Hereford coach Steve Turnbaugh said. "They are a very good football team."

Things got off to a shaky start for Eastern Tech when Broderick Maybank fumbled on the first play from scrimmage. Bulls tailback Adam Goloboski made them pay with a 13-yard touchdown run to put Hereford up 7-0.

Eastern Tech responded with its first points against Hereford, when Maybank faked a reverse handoff, and took the ball down the left sideline for a 61-yard score. Neither side scored again until the field goal.

In the second quarter, Hereford had a good chance to extend its lead, but Grant Hemmerly was stopped at the 1-yard line, ending both the half and the Bulls' scoring threat.

Hereford will play host to the winner of today's Potomac-City game in the semifinals next week.

Eastern Tech 7 0 0 0 - 7

Hereford 7 0 0 3 - 10

H-Goloboski 13 run (Dinkins kick)

ET-Maybank 61 run (Newell kick)

H-Dinkins 31 FG

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.