Anthony, Haskins top college signings

Ex-prep stars here pick Syracuse and Rutgers

High Schools

November 16, 2001|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

Former West Baltimore basketball standouts Carmelo Anthony and Daevon Haskins plan to return to Baltimore this weekend to sign their national letters of intent for colleges next fall.

Anthony, the 2001 All-Metro Player of the Year at Towson Catholic and now, Oak Hill Academy in Wilson, Va., plans to sign with Syracuse. Haskins, a 2001 All-Metro guard at Walbrook and now at Notre Dame Academy in Middleburg, Va., will sign with Rutgers.

Other basketball signings:

Maryland: The Terps signed four women's basketball players to letters of intent: Charmaine Carris, the leading rebounder in Gwynn Park history and a Top 20 power forward in All Star Report; forward Chrissy Fisher of Rumson, N.J.; power forward/center Angel Ross of Midlothian, Va.; and center Vanessa Ruffin of Hagerstown, who played at Broadfording Christian Academy.

Loyola: The North Charles Street school signed Krystal Harrington, a point guard who averaged six assists in leading Montgomery County's Paint Branch to the Class 3A state title last season; Jillian C. Henn of Oyster Bay, N.Y.; Lauren Troupe of Alexandria, Va.; Kerri-Lynn Orsini of Fairfield, Ct.; and Kate Scherle of Mullica Hill, N.J.

Towson: The Tigers signed Jacob McCartney, a 6-foot-10 center from Oak Ridge, Tenn.

Wake Forest: The Winston-Salem, N.C., college got letters from Keila Evans, a forward from St. Frances, and Sandra James, a 6-6 center from Long Reach who will be the tallest women's player in Demon Deacons history.

In lacrosse, five area players also signed this week: McDonogh teammates Lexi Poklemba and Lauren O'Hearn with Richmond and Vanderbilt, respectively; St. Mary's Jaimee Motley and Brittany Fox, with Maryland and Notre Dame, respectively; and St. Paul's Collin Welsh, with Stony Brook in New York.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.