Area students set to declare NCAA intentions

Lacrosse players lead list of early signings

November 14, 2001|By Katherine Dunn | Katherine Dunn,SUN STAFF

Stephanie Scurachio, Melissa McCarthy and Liz Frande, from Mount Hebron's No. 1 girls lacrosse team, head a long list of top-notch high school athletes who will officially accept college scholarship offers during the next week when they sign national letters of intent with NCAA institutions.

Scurachio and McCarthy are headed for North Carolina while Frande chose Penn State.

This early signing period, for lacrosse and several other sports including basketball, baseball and softball, begins today and concludes next Wednesday.

Lacrosse players, however, dominate the list of those signing early. All of the seniors on last spring's girls and boys All-Metro teams expect to sign this week.

"The history of Baltimore lacrosse is so strong," said Bryn Mawr coach Wendy Kridel, who has three players signing. "Part of it is the private schools and part of it is that, because of the history, the youth programs have really grown. These kids have been playing lacrosse the way kids in other areas of the country are playing soccer."

Scurachio, McCarthy and Frande were first-team All-Metro selections last spring after helping the Vikings to the Class 3A-2A state championship, the Vikings' ninth title in 10 years.

Scurachio, the Howard County Player of the Year, led her team in goals (67) and also contributed 29 assists. Multitalented midfielder McCarthy scored 54 goals with 18 assists. Line defender Frande led a unit that allowed just 4.56 goals a game.

Liberty's All-Metro Becky Trumbo, the Carroll County Player of the Year who scored 100 points, will sign with Towson.

Maryvale's dynamic All-Metro duo of midfielder Katie Chrest and goalie Megan Huether, who led the Lions to their best season ever in 2000, are going to Duke.

Loyola defenseman Matt Pinto, the only non-senior on last spring's All-Metro boys lacrosse team, chose Johns Hopkins. In May, the defenseman helped the Dons win their first Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association A Conference crown in a decade.

Second-team girls All-Metro choices Brooke Richards (Broadneck) and Brooke Dieringer (St. Mary's) will sign with Maryland and North Carolina, respectively.

Other girls lacrosse players expecting to sign this week: Mount Hebron's Cindy and Chrissy Nicolaus and Laura Carper, all with Loyola.

Notre Dame Prep's Anne Barthelmy, Notre Dame; Allison Nuzzi, Richmond; Emily Rosen, Ohio State; and Marissa Giannerini, Rutgers.

Bryn Mawr's Megan Burker with Stanford; Ardith Lindsey, Virginia; and Sarah Sullivan, California.

Annapolis' Kate Lipka, Johns Hopkins; Roland Park's Cassie Harvey, Stanford; St. Paul's Molly Ahearn, Georgetown; Towson's Emily Clinton, Maryland; Loch Raven's Christin Krejcik (North Carolina) and Molly Rogers (Boston University); and Liberty's Meagan Voight (Johns Hopkins) and Lindsay Weiner (James Madison).

Several other girls lacrosse players have applied early decision to schools that do not give athletic scholarships: Bryn Mawr's Karrie Moore (Penn), Olachi Opara (Princeton) and Eden Haladay (Colgate); Roland Park's Sarah Scalia, Yale; Maryvale's Casey Hazel, Dartmouth; and Garrison Forest's Maggie Fava, Cornell.

In boys lacrosse, three of Pinto's Loyola teammates also plan to sign: Andy Brown and Flynn Burch with Dickinson and Ryan Tolson with North Carolina.

Spalding has its first two Division I lacrosse signees in more than 15 years in midfielder Kyle Dixon and attackman Derek Platt. Dixon, a second-team All-Metro as a junior for the two-time MIAA B Conference champions, will sign with Virginia. Platt will sign with Sacred Heart in Fairfield, Conn.

Also in boys lacrosse, St. Paul's Sean Link and Hayward Howard are headed for North Carolina while Boys' Latin's Jamie Waring and Bob Griebe will sign with Massachusetts and Towson, respectively.

McDonogh's second-team All-Metro attackman Joe Benson will play for Johns Hopkins; Mount Hebron's Kurt Nordhoff for Delaware; Severn's Billy Staines (North Carolina) and Sean Etter (Penn State); St. Mary's Scott Faletach, North Carolina; and Broadneck's Steve Panos, Notre Dame.

St. Paul's Tyson Rupprecht and D.J. Andrzejewski have applied early decision to Penn.

Right-handed pitcher Joe Peeler, who attends Mount St. Joseph High, has received a baseball scholarship to Towson University. Peeler, 6-2 with a 1.52 ERA last spring, also played second base and batted .402 with 21 RBIs.

Sean Brewer, a Westminster catcher who also played for the Oriolelanders, will sign with Xavier.

In softball, Archbishop Spalding shortstop Christine Sheridan, a second-team All-Metro selection, will play for East Carolina.

Two-time All-Metro basketball player Gary Neal will sign with La Salle and coach Billy Hahn, the former Maryland assistant coach.

Neal, a 6-4, 175-pound guard who transferred to Calvert Hall last spring two weeks after leading Aberdeen to the 2A state championship, committed to La Salle in July.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.