C.M. Wright maintains No. 1 form

Oakland Mills takes 1A

Glenelg tops in 2A

Stroup wins in state-record time

State boys cross country

November 11, 2001|By Edward Lee | Edward Lee,SUN STAFF

Top-ranked C. Milton Wright, Glenelg and Oakland Mills claimed three of the four team championships at the state boys cross country meet at Hereford High School in Parkton yesterday.

Only Northwest of Montgomery County broke up the possible Baltimore area sweep by winning the Class 3A title.

In claiming the 4A crown, the No. 1 Mustangs earned top-eight performances from Pat Bailey (first place in 16:38.04), Aaron Smith (second, 16:49.34), Will Murdoch (fourth, 16:54.64), Jesse Slowikowski (fifth, 16:56.94) and Brian Eagan (eighth, 17:08.24) to compile 20 points.

Not only did C. Milton Wright blow past runner-up Gaithersburg (95 points) and third-place Winston Churchill (140), but the Harford County school also shattered the state record of 28 points accrued by River Hill in 1998.

FOR THE RECORD - An article in Sunday's edition of The Sun contained incorrect information about cross country state records. The 20 points compiled by the C. Milton Wright boys team Saturday was a Class 4A state record and eclipsed the 41 posted by Westminster in 1998. The state record for all schools is 18 points, registered by Beall in the Class C division in 1974. The Sun regrets the error.

"They really want to be known as one of the top teams in the state every year," said coach Don Mickey, whose Mustangs haven't lost a race this season. "Every meet, they showed up and ran. They never produced a bad meet."

Like C. Milton Wright, Oakland Mills took the team and individual championships in Class 1A.

Izudin Mehmedovic won the division in 16:33.04, and the Scorpions earned outings from Rick McGinnis (sixth, 17:48.69), Joel Selby (11th, 18:07.64), Mohamed Abouelrous (13th, 18:26.78), and Dustin Allen (15th, 18:35.49) to total 46 points and nip No. 9 Loch Raven by a single point.

"Coming in this morning, I wouldn't have said that we were the favorites," said Oakland Mills coach Phil Lang, who added yesterday's trophy to the Class 1A state titles the program won in 1999 and 2000. "I really believe that Oakland Mills has had their best races here over the past three years."

Glenelg grabbed the Class 2A championship, gaining top-25 finishes from Ben Adams (seventh, 18:06.95), Jake Hartman (ninth, 18:11.16), Robert Pencek (10th, 18:12.95), Scott Shores (13th, 18:23.58), and Philip Crehan (23rd, 18:48.41) to defeat runner-up Centennial, 62-82.

"We don't have that star runner," said coach Roger Volrath, whose Gladiators last won the state crown 10 years ago. "They put in 900 miles during the season in order to put in their best today."

Shane Stroup of River Hill won the Class 3A individual title with a state-record time of 16:02.14 - besting the 16:10 set by William Christian of Great Mills last season.

Northwest claimed the team championship by placing its five runner in the top 27 and gaining 101 points. No. 3 Dulaney finished second with 103 points and No. 2 Mount Hebron third with 108.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.