Vote could shake city

Tuesday's election to name new mayor, council members

Most wards contested

6 new aldermen potentially could join 8-person board

November 04, 2001|By Amanda J. Crawford | Amanda J. Crawford,SUN STAFF

When Annapolis voters go to the polls Tuesday, the choices they make could result in a significantly different government leading the city for the next four years.

The city not only will get a new mayor to replace Dean L. Johnson, who was defeated in the primary, but also could see a freshman class of six new aldermen as races in five of the eight recently redistricted wards are contested.

While incumbents Sheila M. Tolliver, a Democrat from Ward 2, and Michael W. Fox, a Republican from Ward 7, are unopposed, the council's three other incumbents face challengers. Classie Gillis Hoyle, who defeated 20-year Alderman Samuel Gilmer in the Democratic primary, is running unopposed in Ward 3.

Alderman Louise Hammond, 53, the two-term representative of Ward 1, faces a challenge from 25-year-old Green Party candidate Isaac Opalinsky.

Hammond is a Spa View Heights resident and part-time retail clerk at a downtown shop. Her husband, John, served for 16 years on the council before her election. She defeated Caryl P. Weiss 344-150 in the Democratic primary.

Opalinsky, who sells solar power systems and lives on Duke of Gloucester Street, came to Annapolis to attend St. John's College, graduating in 1999. He is co-chairman of the state Green Party. If he defeats Hammond, Opalinsky will be the youngest Annapolis official and the first Green Party candidate to hold office in Maryland.

In Ward 4, Alderman Joseph Sachs, 67, a Republican serving his first full term on the council, faces a challenge from former city police Officer George O. Kelley.

Kelley, 44, who is pastor of Praise and Deliverance Tabernacle on Clay Street, made an unsuccessful bid for the Ward 5 seat in 1997. He intended to pursue that seat again before the city's redistricting this summer placed his Annapolis Walk neighborhood in Sachs' significantly altered ward.

Sachs, a Heritage neighborhood resident, is a substitute teacher who served on the city's Board of Appeals and filled in on the city council for seven months in 1993.

While Democrat Ellen O. Moyer battles Republican Herbert H. McMillan for mayor Tuesday, two of McMillan's neighbors in the Hunt Meadow community are vying for the seat he is vacating in Ward 5.

David H. Cordle, 43, chief criminal investigator for the Anne Arundel County state's attorney's office and a colonel in the Army Reserve, is the Republican candidate. Cordle, who recently served on the city's charter review commission, faces independent candidate Wilford Scott.

Scott, 51, is chairman of the city's Planning Commission and the Governor's Commission on the Capital City. He is an art historian and lecturer at the National Gallery of Art.

Ward 6 Alderman Cynthia Carter, 62, faces a two-pronged challenge for her seat. Carter, who is serving her first term on the council after a successful write-in campaign in 1997, is a former outreach worker.

Riccardo Paradiso is the Republican candidate. The native of Sicily is a former chairman of the Republican Central Committee and ran unsuccessfully for the House of Delegates in 1998.

Carter's independent challenger, Julie M. Stankivic, 36, is a health insurance specialist at the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and president of the Spa Cove Community Association.

In Ward 8, Democrat Joshua Cohen and Republican Robert McWilliams will square off to fill the seat being vacated by Moyer.

Cohen, 28, is Moyer's chosen successor. He is a former premier of the Maritime Republic of Eastport. He defeated Douglas Lamborne in the Democratic primary 391-213. A Web site developer, Cohen previously served on the Eastport Civic Association and as community services specialist for County Executive Janet S. Owens.

McWilliams, a 44-year-old real estate agent, unsuccessfully challenged Moyer for the council seat in 1997. He is a former board member of the Eastport Civic Association and the city's Republican Central Committee.

Polling places for Tuesday's elections will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Information: city elections office, 410-263-7929.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.