6 women to be honored at annual Hamer awards Six...


September 30, 2001

6 women to be honored at annual Hamer awards

Six extraordinary women are to be feted at the 5th Annual Fannie Lou Hamer Awards reception, named after the famous feminist and civil rights activist. The reception, which will be held at the Banneker Douglass Museum, 84 Franklin Street in Annapolis, is held each year to honor women who keep her legacy alive through their words, deeds, and actions.

Mrs. Hamer was a remarkable woman. The daughter of a Mississippi sharecropper, she won national acclaim and assisted Martin Luther King, Jr. in working for the passage of the 1965 Voting Rights Act, that insures that African-Americans right to vote would be protected.

This year's recipients include Alderman Sheila Tolliver, who opposed the so-called anti-loitering drug zones, which was struck down by a federal judge this year.

Other honorees are Barbara Ann Dorsey, outgoing president of the YMCA of Anne Arundel County and Annapolis; Marqurite R. Askew-Kirkland, a staff member of the YMCA; Melissa Owens, WYRE radio personality; Deborah Mackall, a South County activist; and Severn activist Mary Ringgold.

The event, which is scheduled for Oct. 6, the birthday of Mrs. Hamer, will feature a keynote address by the Reverend Barbara Skinner, the former executive director of the Congressional Black Caucus. Tickets are $20.00 per person and may be purchased at the door.

Attending the event will be County Executive Janet S. Owens, Alderman Ellen O. Moyer, Carl O. Snowden, and other elected and appointed officials.

Annapolis recently held its Primaries; the legacy of Mrs. Hamer was reflected in the fact that every citizen's right to vote was guaranteed by the law that she supported. We look forward to several hundred people [honoring] Mrs. Hamer and our honorees with their presence. For more information and/or tickets call Fred Howard at 410-760-2208.

Delores Hawkins


Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.