As usual, Bull Run meet boasts star-studded field

Cream of running crop set Saturday at Hereford


High Schools

September 19, 2001|By Lem Satterfield and Katherine Dunn | Lem Satterfield and Katherine Dunn,SUN STAFF

Hereford's annual Bull Run Invitational cross-country meet Saturday will be loaded with its usual top-notch talent, boasting representation from all but one team that appear in The Sun's top 10 rankings for both boys and girls.

The star-studded boys' field will include All-Metro runners Pat Bailey (C. Milton Wright), Shane Stroup (River Hill), Izudin Mehmedovic (Oakland Mills) and Chris Wright (Mount St. Joseph).

Cori Koch (Towson), the All-Metro Runner of the Year in cross country and the All-Metro Performer of the Year in indoor track, will lead the girls' field. Others include All-Metro Tenke Zoltani (Dulaney), Tarynn Barker (North Carroll), Nyam Kagwima (Bryn Mawr), Tricia O'Connell (Catonsville) and Laura Garrett (Mount de Sales).

The boys' large-school race will start things off at 9:35 a.m., followed by the girls at 10:05. The boys' and girls' elite runs will be at 11:10 and 11:40, respectively, followed by the boys and girls small-school competitions at 3:30 and 4 p.m. Boys and girls medium races have been added and will start at 2:30 and 3, respectively.

Last fall, Good Counsel of Wheaton in Montgomery County won the elite team title on the boys' side, and Middletown of Frederick took the honors for the girls. Broadneck's boys and River Hill's girls won the large-school crowns a year ago, and Towson's boys and girls won each of the small-school titles.

Of the defending champions, all but Good Counsel returns.

On the girls' side, defending 4A state champ C. Milton Wright, 4A runner-up Dulaney, 3A state champ North Carroll, defending 2A state champ Middletown, South Carroll, Westminster, Severna Park, Towson, Mount de Sales, Mount Hebron and Notre Dame Prep will vie for the elite crown.

That could mean a loaded race, including Zoltani, Koch, Barker, Garrett and Kagwima. Zoltani was 4A state runner-up, Barker 3A runner-up and Koch 2A state champ.

Among those competing in the elite race for boys will be defending 4A state champ Gaithersburg of Montgomery County, defending 3A state champ South Carroll, 3A state runner-up River Hill, Mount St. Joseph and C. Milton Wright.

That means 4A state runner-up Bailey, MIAA runner-up Wright and Stroup - who defeated Oakland Mills' 1A state champ, Mehmedovic, last weekend - will run for the gold in a tough race.

Eagles' ups and downs

McDonogh's girls soccer team took over The Sun's No. 1 ranking earlier this week, but also likely missed a chance to secure a high national ranking.

On Monday, the Eagles, ranked 17th nationally in Student Sports magazine's Fab 50 girls soccer rankings, fell to Paul VI, 5-4 in double overtime. Trailing the 29th-ranked Fairfax, Va., squad almost the entire game, the host Eagles did not score until the 57th minute and then scored three more goals in the final 9:36 of regulation.

All-Metro Ali Andrzejewski, who scored the Eagles' first goal, assisted Christina Spearman and Brittany Tegeler. Mary Beth Creed also had a goal, on a feed from Jamie Dorsey, during the late-game blitz.

In a game that was originally scheduled for the Nashville Challenge tournament that was canceled last weekend in Tennessee, the Eagles outshot Paul VI, 17-15.

"That's a lot of goals for us to score," said Eagles coach Maurice Boylan Jr. "We've played Villa Joseph Marie [Pa.], Bishop O'Connell and Severna Park and these guys [Paul VI] and at the beginning of every game, they're taking it to us, but by the time the second half rolls around, we're dominating."

The Eagles will try to get off to a quicker start this afternoon when they play host to IND.

Team Maryland

Sixteen of the best field hockey players in Baltimore City, Baltimore County and Harford County will compete for Team Maryland in the U.S. Field Hockey Association's annual festival in Florida over Thanksgiving weekend.

Selected by the Maryland State High School Field Hockey Coaches Association, Team Maryland includes three local repeat selections - Christina Restivo, Hereford; Kristin Hogan, Park, and Emily Kolarik, Towson. Rounding out the team: Karrie Moore and Margaret Yellott, Bryn Mawr; Stephanie Simon, Fallston; Sarah Tracey, Hereford; Christina Chan and Lauren Moag, McDonogh; Adrienne Wiegmann, Notre Dame Prep; Caroline Grumbine, Roland Park; Allison Schindler, St. Paul's; Maggie Dolan, Jocelyn Paul and Lucy Poole, Towson, and Stacy McNamee, C. Milton Wright.

Kim Ziegler, Fallston; Whitney Mershon, Towson, and Kristin Elutrio, C. Milton Wright, were selected as alternates. Roland Park coach Debbie Bloodsworth will be one of four coaches.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.